hello and question: 1GB = 822MB ???

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by permutations, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    My phone is spec'd at 1GB, but four different memory utilities say it has a total RAM capacity of 822MB. Where did the other 202MB go? I really need the full gig!

    My Android tablet also is spec'd at 1GB, and it has 975MB - still not quite 1024MB, but much closer.
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,268
    Likes Received:
    3,716
    Trophy Points:
    738
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,093
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    The phone may have a portion partitioned and set aside for the OS. Just like your tablet where it only shows 975MB and not the full 1,024MB.
     
  3. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Any idea how I can find out for sure? I'd like to know exactly where it is and what it's being used for - confirmed.

    I don't think it's honest to advertise a device as having 1GB of memory if only 822MB is available. That's a huge drop.
     
  4. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    ^^What Fox said.

    There is a certain amount that is dedicated as certain type of "overhead" reserved just for the system and required apps to keep the system alive. Its partitioned that way to avoid potential memory leaks or "accidentally" closing the processes that would shut the system down.

    Also, you shouldn't care or even pay attention to the RAM, Android does a pretty good job at managing the RAM and will close processes when needed to keep the system and apps you use up and running smoothly. If things get choppy, reboot the phone, like rebooting a computer.

    This article does a decent job at explaining: RAM: What it is, how it's used, and why you shouldn't care | Android Central

    Do some searching on the topic if you dare. There's a lot of info out there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    It occurs to me that it's probably Verizon bloatware. There is much more bloatware on my phone than on my tablet. I froze the bloatware rather than removing it.
     
  6. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    macpro88 - I know how memory management works on the Android, but it's not always enough. I love apps, and I've been running out of memory. My browser starts getting very slow and unstable, and then I become unable to load screenshots in Google Play Store without using a task killer. I finally removed a bunch of apps from my device, and then froze a lot of the bloatware, and that helped. That's why I was downloading the memory managers in the first place.

    The one thing I don't like about this phone is, not enough memory! If it had the full 1GB, it would be enough - that's what burns me. The reason I haven't removed the bloatware is that OTA updates stop working. But I don't really care about OTA updates - I don't want JB. Maybe just to see, I'll try removing some of the bloatware and see if it affects total memory. If so, I'll have my answer.
     
  7. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    It does indeed have a full 1GB of RAM, otherwise they would not be able to advertise as such after passing through the FCC. And if it had less than 1GB, it would be reporting with 768MB or slightly less, since memory works in multiples of 64MB

    If you really have that much stuff running and open, then you may be exceeding the physical limitations of the device, which I find hard to do, very hard to do, even when I am doing a lot on my phone mine runs smooth with no issues.

    Also take into consideration that choppiness can also be due to a few apps using high amounts of the CPU as well, not just RAM.

    Found a few other articles if you're interested: Memory Management in Android « Welcome to Mobile World !!!

    Android Memory Usage - eLinux.org
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
  9. wcjeep

    wcjeep Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +49
    I think in developer options you can limit the amount of back ground processes running. I leave mine set to standard limit. It sounds like you have something big running in the background. Do you have anything set for auto backup? Maybe move the setting to backup on wifi only.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    macpro88 - have you really never run out of memory on your phone? I guess I enjoy apps more than you. I'm a programmer and I like software. I also spent many years as a computer journalist, reviewing hardware and software. To me, it's really fun and I love playing with it. I discovered Tasker recently, and downloaded that and some plug-ins for it, and wrote some really cool scripts. There is some great stuff available for the Droid, and I love this little computer I can carry in my pocket. The Samsung Galaxy S3 has 2GB of memory. If the Razr Maxx HD had 2GB, it would be perfect, in my opinion. Vastly less bloatware would also help quite a bit, though!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Nope! Never ran out before. And yes, I do use my phone quit a bit and use quit a few apps. But it can also depend on what apps are being used as I am sure we different types of users, and clearly you are a super duper super heavy power user lol I deff get good use out of my phone, but again, we must just be different types of power users.

    And tasker is great, have done the same with that program back in the old Droid X days with Foyo and Gingerbread, where memory management was most deff needed lol

    I would agree that if most phones had that 2GB there would be a difference, but I guess most the apps I use are light memory hogs lol

    If you really do run out of memory from too many apps, I would love to see a daily blog of how you use your phone showing such activity lol
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. permutations

    permutations New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm still googling this topic, and I'm no longer sure that my bloatware theory is the answer. That post in xda-developers said removing bloatware freed RAM, but so does freezing it. I think removing it would just free internal storage, not RAM. So I'm still googling, still trying to figure out what is using that 202MB on my phone.

    The reason that Android memory management doesn't solve everything is because some types of programs are services and can't be killed - like Google+ (and every other Google app on the device), and most (if not all) of the Verizon bloatware are services, too. These never go away. If you try to kill them, they are immediately recreated. Any program that monitors something on the device - monitors data, battery, or memory usage, automates anything to happen on a regular basis - has to be a service. Facebook, Google+, and email apps are services because they periodically check for activity and then notify you. These services are permanent residents in memory and the more of them you use, the less memory you have available to run other apps. I was using an app called Plume for a while, for Twitter and Facebook, until I discovered it was a service using 80MB of RAM. Bye-bye Plume!

    Back to the mystery of the missing 202MB... Isn't this some sort of official Motorola/Verizon forum? That's why I posted the question here. I thought someone from these companies could answer. Someone there knows the answer to this question!
     
Search tags for this page
1 gb ram only 800 mb usable android
,

galaxy s3 only 800 mb ram

,
galaxy s3 ram 1gb 800 mb
,
la ram s3 et 836
,

make the samsung galaxy s3 ram 1g usable

,
ram showing 975 mb instead of 1gb
,
samsung mobile of ram 800mb
,
why is 800mb only usable out of 1gb ram
,
why my ram in samsung galaxy s3 id only 800mb
,
y did my s3 ram shows 800mb instead of 1gb