Hello! and Heeeelllllppp!!

medicgipson

Reaction score
Hello all tech savy! I am new to the smart phone. I bought my Droid X about two weeks ago and VERY slowly learning my way around! I am a RN/Paramedic so this is by FAR not my specialty, but once I master it, I think it would be a huge help! My first problem is that I downloaded handcent for text messages, but I can not figure out how to uninstall the original text that came on the phone, so now, everytime I recieve text messages, they come in duplicates to both places. Is there a way to sync them or uninstall the original? I would like to use the handcent exclusively. Suggestions??? Please, I need someone to take me by the hand and lead me through this new world of the smart phone!!!
Thanks!!! ~Summer~

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
O.K...take my hand :wink:

Go into the stock messaging application and then settings/notifications and turn them off

Then you will only get Handcent notifications, you cannot uninstall the stock messaging app, only quite it.

Anything else while I am here ?

BTW :welcome: to the Forum and Congrats on the DX

if I ever need Medical Attention I might ask you :biggrin:

mountainbikermark

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.
As you delete them off handcent it deletes from the stock app as well.
As stated above turn off notifications and you won't get double tones.fwiw,I use the stock app for drafts.I send a Bible verse out every morning at oh dark thirty and save it the night before

wified from my Incredible monolith using SlideIT on Tapatalk

OP
M

medicgipson

Reaction score
Thank you soooooo much! Don't let go of my hand yet, i'm sure I have many many more questions! And i am here for any medical advice you may need in return!!! :)

mountainbikermark

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score