Hello all

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Vooks, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. Vooks

    Vooks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC DESIRE 612
    name is Vooks, Vooks K.
    I just got my first android device Verizon HTC Desire 612. Been a BlckBerry person all through.
    My biggest challenge, using a non-Verizon SIM on the phone. I have attached the screen grab of the pop up am getting

    The phone is s-off and rooted thanks to Sunshine and KingRoot respectively
     

    Attached Files:

  2. droidprincess

    droidprincess Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9,479
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    La Grange, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,103
    Current Phone Model:
    Iphone 7 Plus
    Twitter:
    droidprincesstx
    Hello....welcome to DF! Correct me if I'm wrong but to use a non-Verizon Sim wouldn't you need to have the phone unlocked??

    sent from my fabulous Note 4♡
     
  3. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,693
    Likes Received:
    4,031
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Welcome to the forum.. congrats on the new phone.. I'm not familiar with the phone.. but double check that under mobile networks you have it set to global... also from a quick read do you have a set up wizard or something similar for app? if so try to freeze it with app such as titanium backup

    Tapped by NexusSix
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Vooks

    Vooks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC DESIRE 612
    Hi droidprincess,
    VZW referred me to their unlocking policy right here
    Device Unlocking Policy Verizon Wireless
    They insist the device is unlocked
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    3,054
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,351
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Welcome to DroidForums Vooks. I too am unfamiliar with your new phone. It does seem that Verizon does a good job making it very difficult using their phones with another carrier. I went through the same thing trying to get a Verizon Note2 to work with another carrier's SIM for my brother even though he was assured it would work. Although, I have yet to query the resources here to see if there was a solution. Start with bkdodger's suggestions and maybe there will be success. Keep us posted.

    sent from my Note3 (soon to be??) using tapatalk
     
  6. Vooks

    Vooks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC DESIRE 612
    Hi bkdodger,
    I removed the setup wizard using App Master but am still getting the error.

    Where do I set to global? Which part of the settings?

    Thank you
     
  7. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    3,054
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,351
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Go to the phone settings menu. Select "network" or "more networks" then "mobile data" then "network mode"

    sent from my Note3 (soon to be??) using tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Vooks

    Vooks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC DESIRE 612
    Hi @TisMyDroid,
    I just did that and this is what I have. Am using a SIM card from Orange Kenya and I think 63907 is a code for this carrier.

    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    3,054
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,351
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    It seems that Sims out of the US are much more possible with Verizon than US carrier Sims, especially on a global phone. There are others on this site that are very familiar and successful with doing so. You could also try going to that sim's carrier. They may have the solution.

    sent from my Note3 (soon to be??) using tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Vooks

    Vooks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC DESIRE 612
    That's a great idea. Let me visit one and hear what they have to say. Will keep you posted. Thank you all
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    3,054
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,351
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Hope they have the secret solution. If not, come back here and we can continue to troubleshoot.

    sent from my Note3 (soon to be??) using tapatalk
     
  12. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Congrats and welcome to the Forum @Vooks. On Android for a few days and rooted.. That's awesome.. Continue to enjoy our site and good luck with your new toy.
     
    • Like Like x 1