1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

helix force close

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Slingky, May 2, 2010.

  1. Slingky
    Offline

    Slingky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi, my helix launcher is in constant force close
    I cant do anything on my phone because of this

    how do I stop/uninstall it?
  2. sddenizen
    Offline

    sddenizen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    settings --> applications --> Helix --> clear defaults
  3. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It did the same thing for me when I first downloaded..I uninstalled it and reinstalled. Try that. What you also should do is clear everything off your stock home screens..
  4. jaydoubledub
    Offline

    jaydoubledub New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    same/similar prob, FIXED... for now

    I was having similar fc probs with Helix Launcher from the Market. It seems somewhat buggy unless its integrated with roms. I'm running Adamz Smoked Glass v6.0.1. When I. Installed Helix from the market I started getting lag an then fc's an black screens, to where I had to pull the battery. I eventually uninstalled it. Well, since then I've reinstalled it. It seems to work fine now.
    A few things I've done:
    1. Removed everything from stock home screen. EVERYTHING
    (That step seems to have made it snappier too)
    2. Set the ATK notification to appear in dropdown, just in case I need to manually close Helix.
    3. As a failsafe, I downloaded Home Switcherfrom the market.
    4. Under Settings>Applications>Shortcuts I assigned Home Switcher its very own quick launch.

    I hope the input helps!
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it is in constant force close, press the "home soft key" and it will give you an option of what launcher to use to "go home" with, don't choose Helix choose the other and then uninstall, or just pull the battery
  6. Jrmh
    Offline

    Jrmh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i chose the helix launcher and now im in constant fc. i need help, anyone???
  7. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The answer is in the post right above yours.
  8. qoncept
    Offline

    qoncept New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    You aren't prompted to choose a home screen if you've already chosen a default. You can't get in to settings to clear defaults if Helix is FCing.

    I just posted the answer:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/te...placement-fc-force-close-loop.html#post485748
  9. Jrmh
    Offline

    Jrmh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thankx guess I shoulda been more specific, I have already made helix my default and unfortunately I tried to down size my windows form 6 to 5 and now I'm pretty much stuck in FC
  10. RoNYC
    Offline

    RoNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    This happened to me a little while back. You need to boot to safe mode. Power off your droid>press power and the center of the dpad>delete helix>power off>power back on> reinstall helix if you like. Anyone please correct me if I am wrong!
  11. Jrmh
    Offline

    Jrmh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thankx

    Thanks I actually figured it out earlier with help by trying to install a new home, I'm actually trying to reinstall it helix now. Its installed but not running? Any insight on that?
  12. RoNYC
    Offline

    RoNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    You can try pressing the home key and choose helix as the default.
  13. Jrmh
    Offline

    Jrmh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it just brings me home as usual