Helix FCing, no backup

Discussion in 'Xeudoxus' started by qoncept, May 14, 2010.

  1. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running Darkedge for a few days now and hadn't gotten Helix themed because it was running when I used Metamorph to theme the apps. I cleared defaults to make Home my default home, killed the Helix task, applied the theme and rebooted. Like an idiot, I chose Helix as my default home and it immediately started FCing over and over again.

    I don't have a recent nandroid backup and I REALLY don't want to recover from an older backup AGAIN, and I'm on the road without adb. What are my options? If I can figure out a way to get in to the market (if I click on the "Report" button, I can then click the search button and get in to a browser) I can uninstall Helix and I should be good to go. So.. is there any way to get in to the market or settings (so I can clear defaults) without going to my homescreen?
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have heard of people hitting the search soft key in between loops, and getting into the settings, or market that way.
     
  3. Koveleski

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Ratings:
    +1
    While in recovery, I'd just delete the helix.apk - that way when rebooting, it has to go to default launcher. Not saying that works - but if I was stuck in your position I'd certainly give it a try.
     
  4. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the soft search button and that got me in to a browser, and by downloading a file I can get in to Astro, but I still haven't found a way to get to settings or the market from there.

    I don't have adb available right now. Is there a way to do that without? I did try deleting and uninstalling the apk in Astro but, of course, it's read only.
     
  5. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, can I get someone to upload the apk for any home replacement? That'd do it. Thanks!
    PHP:
     
  6. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Managed to find one, its working now. Any idea what I did wrong to make helix star fcing?
     
  7. Grey Hawk

    Grey Hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Boot into safe mood and uninstall Helix.

    Hold the power and menu key when booting to enter safe mode. Cheers.
     
  8. inconspicuous bandito

    inconspicuous bandito New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not quite mentioned in the faq from what I can tell but you need Helix 1.4 beta, which is only available if you donate. I only have the one from the market and ran into the same issue.
     
  9. Koveleski

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Ratings:
    +1
    When you go to apply the helix theme from within metamorph, it tells you the version is for 1.4b1 as seen in the SS below.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jrmh

    Jrmh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    having the same problem as you qoncept how excatly did u fix this problem? i'm a noob so please explain..
     
  11. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    The easiest thing you can do:

    * After the FC, click on "Report" so you can actually do something
    * Push the Search soft button and search for anything, just to get you in to the browser
    * Find a place to download a home replacement APK. (Try here: ZeamCustom.apk)
    * When it's finished downloading, click Install
    ** You'll have to have alternate application sources enabled to install an APK without using the market. I THINK it should prompt you to do so if you don't already have it enabled. If not, I don't know what you can do.
    * After it's installed, click the Home button. It should ask you which app to use, choose anything but Helix
     
  12. Jrmh

    Jrmh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ididnt realize u were using metamorph, I'm stock and screwed up I tried to go from. 6 windows to 5 and didn't delete my widgets, now I'm stuck in FC whenever I press home... my trying a few things to no avail
     
  13. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did that once before too, tried to switch from 4 screens to 3. This solution will still work.
     
  14. borgey401

    borgey401 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when will the release helix 1.4 for people who are not donating? i wish i could see what it looks like and if i liked it i would donate just to get it.