1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HDMI work around for ICS

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by yaterml, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I poked around and couldn't find anything addressing the issue of HDMI out on NFL Mobile post ICS. I know the trusty Xternal Display for Droid X worked previously but now it won't let me install on ICS. Stock Rooted FW.
  2. rbess1965
    Offline

    rbess1965 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I would sure like to know about this one also. I asked this same question over on Android Central a few days ago and all I hear is crickets. I can display Netflix and YouTube but not NFL or Hulu. They have the same type of error message telling me to unplug the hdmi cable and then the run fine on the phone only. That just sucks and I'd like to at minimum hear an explanation n of why. If it won't work I'm canceling my subscription to Verizon NFL service.

    Sent using the amazing DROID RAZR MAXX
  3. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's to prevent misuse of the broadcast. That way you couldn't use it for professional broadcast as it's only a personal mobile license you purchase from Verizon not a full broadcast license. Same for Hulu mobile versus full profile. It's all BS. They don't want you hooking it up and showing an entire room of people or charging people to watch it. It's the same reason you won't see a WWE or UFC mobile PPV app. There is obviously a work around it just needs to be exploited for ICS.
  4. mekanism
    Offline

    mekanism New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been researching this for the past week and currently there is no work around for hdmi with nfl mobile. However, I plan on trying an app called mirrorop which mirrors the display wirelessly or through usb. You have to have a computer connected to your tv otherwise you need to buy a special receiver, and you need to be rooted which I'm not at the moment. If any of you that are rooted want to try it out they have a trial for the window software and the app is free.

    Check it out:

    http://www.mirrorop.com/product_Windows_Receiver.html

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. mekanism
    Offline

    mekanism New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got mirrorop working on my computer that is connected to my tv in the living room but the framerates are horrible. Nfl mobile is un watchable. Maybe for those of you with really fast wifi it would work better (I'm still on G).

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  6. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well this sucks. i have a hdmi cable on order and i was all set to do this. i thought it was a great idea. i have a rooted maxx and my rom is symplex so maybe, just maybe it will work?
    anyone made any progress yet? anyone tired sqlite editor on nfl mobile app to see if that fixes it?
  7. jbattershell
    Offline

    jbattershell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Solution using ADB

    I used to use Xternal Display until I got a RAZR Maxx that has ICS and the app doesn't work anymore. Xternal Display actually has their code posted online so I downloaded it and tried to see if there were any changes that would allow it to work with ICS. Turns out Motorola had an HDMI API that it discontinued for ICS. This API is what Xternal Display used and without it, there is not an easy way of making the app work on 4.0+.

    After some work I did come up with a new solution so I can get NFL mobile mirrored to my TV! You must have the Android SDK tools installed and the Developer driver from Motorola installed for this to work. You can download the driver at https://developer.motorola.com/tools/usb_drivers/handset_usb_driver/
    1. Connect HDMI cable to phone and connect USB to computer and phone
    2. Open up command prompt and change directory to your SDK folder/platform-tools. For me, that is C:\Android-sdk\platform-tools
    3. Send the following without the quotes: "adb shell am broadcast -a com.motorola.intent.action.externaldisplaystate --ei hdmi 0 --ei hdcp 1"
    4. Open up NFL Mobile and enjoy it on a bigger screen!
    NFL Mobile looks for broadcasts that indicate the state of the HDMI port and stops accessing the streaming content when it sees that HDMI has been plugged in. By sending a command over the ADB interface, we are effectively tricking NFL mobile into thinking that the HDMI cable has been removed! It's not quite as nice as Xternal Display was since it's not just an app on the phone anymore, but at least there is a way!
    1 person likes this.
  8. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think that the command could be put in an executable command script that could be put on the phone and opened via an app like es explorer? Or rom manager?
  9. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or could this be direct edited via SDK lite?
  10. jbattershell
    Offline

    jbattershell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure. So far I haven't found any way to allow an app on the phone to give commands as if they were being sent through the ADB. Though I've only been coding Android for a few months, so it's entirely possible there is a way. If someone is able use this method to create an app or a script that eliminates the need for a PC, that would be great.
  11. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    See in was wondering if you could change the value with SQLite so that it doesn't see the HDMI cable or that it checked and it returned a 0. I haven't had time to sit down an comb over the code
  12. gan777
    Offline

    gan777 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this will help, but I would like to see a workaround for this. While I was waiting around at work today for a computer issue to be resolved I started looking through the file system on my razr to see if I could find anything... I came across a file in etc/permissions called com.verizon.hardware.hdmi.xml. I opened the file and it says something about this being there to prevent content from being displayed through hdmi. There is a reference to "permissions" in the file that looks like it references its permissions from a database (see below). I know squat about XML myself so I am hoping someone else might be able to make use of this info.
    <permissions>
    <feature name="vzw.hardware.hdmi"/>
    </permissions>

    edit: I tried simply renaming the file hoping that if it didn't find it, maybe it would work. That had no effect.
  13. rbess1965
    Offline

    rbess1965 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Watching you guys working on this and how the process develops to create a solution is fascinating and I'm glad these forums exist for us that have no programming experience what so ever. You guys rock.

    Sent using the amazing DROID RAZR MAXX
  14. Lintroller
    Offline

    Lintroller New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any updates on this? Anybody else use the jbattershell method successfully? I'm currently attempting it as we speak, I'll update you on my progress.
  15. m3mo15
    Offline

    m3mo15 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually didn't have the sdk tools so it took me forever to try this but anyways it works flawless. How i did it was i connected the usb cable (load drivers), then connected the HDMI cable (phone-tv) select mirror display "duh", then i opened the nfl mobile app and tried to watch it, after the error i sent the adb command and then retried to watch it and voila! working %100 looks pretty good on my 32", saved my day and got to see the broncos embarrass the raiders lol
  16. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, what on earth am i doing wrong! i have sdk tools installed, moto drivers, but when it comes to the cmd prompt, thats where it all goes wrong! i can't get anything to work. i keep getting "bad directory" or some type of verbage like that. i can post the exact phrase if needed. i have tried all different ways to get this to work and i keep failing.....
    please help, i'm dumb.....
  17. jbattershell
    Offline

    jbattershell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    An update on this. I spent some time this weekend seeing if I could put this command into an app. Unfortunately when I tried to have the app broadcast the intent the app would force close because it did not have the authority to send it. The ADB commands work because it is given permissions over more system functions than an app which does make sense from a security standpoint. Unfortunately that means that this method probably cannot be translated directly into an app.
  18. jbattershell
    Offline

    jbattershell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Were you able to navigate to the folder where you stored the SDK and get into the platform tools folder? The path I gave was an example, you may have stored the sdk in a different location.
  19. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got it to work, but i had to do a few different things or at least change a few items.....
    i watched a youtube video and and downloaded the exact same file (.zip) he did.....
    i then had to "exact" that .zip into C:\
    after i installed it, i had to open up "manager" and then "click" and download "platform-tools"
    here is where i was LOST!
    when i opened up win XP cmd prompt, my screen said "C:\Documents and Settings\......"
    no matter what i did, i couldn't change the directory to anything, when i typed in C:\ it said "bad file" or something like that. long story short, it wouldn't work.
    so....i googled.....
    came up with a cool fix. i went to start, all programs, accessories, (right clicked) on cmd prompt. clicked on "properties", (the "short cut tab should already be selected) where it says "Start In" i changed that. i did a copy paste of the location of my platform-tools (for me, i followed the youtube video and it was....
    C:\Android......
    i hit "ok" and when i started cmd prompt, that directory was already loaded. i then went back to jbattershell's post and copied that line "adb shell am broadcast -a com.motorola.intent.action.externaldisplaystate --ei hdmi 0 --ei hdcp 1"

    that should have been it, buuuuuuut, it wasn't. m3mo15 help me with the final steps.
    at this point i had my laptop and phone connected. so, now i have cmd prompt open, the directory is there now, i have the script? (is that what you call it?) copy and pasted, but i haven't hit "return" yet. i now plug my phone into the TV (still leaving my phone plugged into the laptop as well) turn on NFL apk, choose a video, and i get the fail message. i hit ok on the phone screen, then i hit "return" on the laptop, it starts the script, the phone has the circle loading icon going.....
    it finishes, and bam!
    NFL mobile on the bring screen!

    (i did have to load the script a few times, not sure if i was impatient or it just needed to be that way)
  20. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alrighty then!
    i updated my rom from symplex v1.2 to v1.3. i had to re do the script? this time it was a whole lot smoother. since i had everything already downloaded i didn't have to mess with that.....
    plugged the phone in, started the app, got the fail, ran the script, bingo bango bingo, done deal.
    to make the picture a tiny bit better i did put the "overscan" option all the way down in the settings menu. i have a 43" tv so have very small black border isn't an issue.
    thanks again for all the help.
Search tags for this page
bionic hdmi not working
,

droid 4 hdmi

,
droid 4 hdmi not working
,
droid razr hdmi won't work
,
droid razr maxx hdmi mirroring
,
galaxy s3 hdmi hack
,
hdmi block on android
,
ics no hdmi out
,
nfl mobile hdmi hack
,

nfl mobile hdmi out

,

nfl mobile hdmi out razr

,

xternal display

,
xternal display app
,

xternal display for droid razr

,
xternal display galaxy s3