HDMI question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by jntdroid, May 22, 2011.

  1. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    I tested out the HDMI mirroring on the X2 for the first time tonight. Youtube (HQ) videos look great, 720p videos taken with the phone look great. However, games, the homescreen, the main gallery area (and some pics) look real pixelated and not crisp. My TV, I believe, is only 720p - could that be the reason? I believe it mirrors in 1080p... but I would think "squeezing" that into 720p would only be better... I clearly don't have great knowledge in that area. :)
     
  2. moomooplatter

    moomooplatter New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Squeezing 1080 pixels into 720 is going to create visible tearing problems on-screen because the aspects are squeezing 4/3 of a 1080 pixel into each 720 pixel, thus your picture might be distorted and/or crappy. If the phone is outputting the picture into 1080p and having to take that texture being rendered and resize it every frame, there will be issues with picture quality and clarity when rendering shaders for blended outputs like video games.

    Hope this helps!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  3. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    That does help, and makes perfect sense... thank you for that explanation. That, I would assume, also explains why things "native" to the phone, like the home screen, and even apps/games are having issues, but playing videos the phone takes (which it takes in 720p) as well as high quality youtube vids (which I believe are also 720) - those all look fine... but when it's playing those videos, the screen on the phone actually shuts off.

    Thanks again... I wonder if it's wrong to upgrade your TV b/c of your phone? Don't think I could ever justify that one... ;)
     
  4. Snow02

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    You should have hdmi settings to choose output resolution and refresh rate.
     
  5. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Yea someone checked. I think the HDMI settings is different on the DX2 compared to the DX1. Which would be kinda strange.
     
  6. moomooplatter

    moomooplatter New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, there should be options to mess with for resolution,I haven't looked into them yet. I would justify getting that television just for 1080 in general. It will provide more enjoyment and benefit than just phone performance.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  7. Snow02

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    I'm still dubious about the explanation. It'd be worthwhile to try it on a 1080 set to see if that does in fact rectify the issues.
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    Every demo I've seen shows it looking great on other HD TV's - they never say "this is a 1080p TV we're using", but I think it's a safe assumption.

    I don't have one real handy to try unfortunately.
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    If I remember right, on the DX it was Settings>HDMI>then hit menu and it would bring up the options right? If so, it's not there...the only thing under that area is "overscan" settings, and hitting menu brings nothing up. I haven't been able to find settings any where else.

    Unless there's something buggy... I have seen the occasional weird issue - for example, in the Android Facebook app, I can't scroll all the way down to "other settings where you can change whether or not you sync your contacts - it just won't go. But the HDMI settings don't appear to be that "issue"...
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    jroc is that you over at androidforums? :p
     
  11. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    lol, yea thats me.
     
Search tags for this page
can droid x2 play videogames on hdmi setting
,
does droid x2 distort when mirror to tv
,
droid x2 hdmi image quality
,
droid x2 hdmi quality
,

droid x2 hdmi resolution

,
droid x2 to hdmi settings
,
droid4 hdmi mirror settings
,
dx2 hdmi resolution
,
hdmi overscan setting on x2
,
where is overscan droid x2