HDMI out

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by ezMesican, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. ezMesican
    Offline

    ezMesican New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I bought an HDMI cable from Amazon, connected it, but I don't get display or sound. Am I supposed to do something to the phone? I rebooted and it was still the same. I'm using SteelDroid ROM and the cable I bought was this: Amazon.com: Fosmon HDMI to Micro HDMI Cable (6 Feet): Electronics I don't know if I needed a certain type of cable or what. Someone help me with this please
  2. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I have a strong hunch your cable is fine. I was disgusted to see that HBOGo doesn't work. I also see that a bunch of apps will display on my Panasonic TV, but most with no sound (several games work). At the moment, the best I can get is plugging the HDMI into a 25" LCD monitor, and I consistently get video+sound on that. So it appears that HDMI is quite picky.

    There is already a bit of discussion around on this question, most of it focusing on going into your TV settings, and playing with the HDMI-in options.

    -Matt
  3. msjohnson2868
    Offline

    msjohnson2868 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some ROMs don't have the hdmi feature. It is a function of the Motorola hardware, and is built into motoblur, but may not be in your rom. Especially if it is a port. Not familiar with yours though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  4. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Steel DROID doesn't have functioning HDMI. Only MOTOBLUR ROMs.

    Boot Manager
  5. ezMesican
    Offline

    ezMesican New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aw man : ( I guess I'll give this cable to my sister for her X
  6. Dilligaf
    Offline

    Dilligaf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    I'll bet there's some kind of DRM bulls**t involved here, especially with the premium content.
  7. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Try a different ROM. And your sister must be on a Blur based ROM for it to work with her X also. Its a Moto thing

    Boot Manager
  8. cyber3dx
    Offline

    cyber3dx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been using a standard HDMI cable with my D3 and it works fine. Immediately shows the D3 "desktop" and plays movies with crystal clarity and audio. The only thing is that I have not rooted my D3. My cable is the GTMax 15FT Micro-HDMI to HDMI Cable (Black/Red) So, I'd imagine it is not your cable.
  9. ezMesican
    Offline

    ezMesican New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found out the problem. Steel Droid has the DLNA app debloated, and apparently that handles the HDMI out. I flashed the app into the ROM and now the HDMI out works perfectly.
  10. mamofish
    Offline

    mamofish New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to get this working on cyanogen 9?

    Just loaded my droid 3 with the latest build, no HDMI output. Anyone figured this out?

    Thanks.
  11. aagrlp640
    Offline

    aagrlp640 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can u tell how did u do that? i have the same problem that the tv doesnt recognize my droid 3.
    Other question, ¿what do u mean by DLNA app debloated? i think i have oficial rom, actually i bought my cell phone through internet and i think it have the oficial rom how can i know if it have another rom?
    Thanks for your help
  12. Tai
    Offline

    Tai New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Steel Droid Old versions (3 and before) have hdmi support


    My 5.6 ics droid3 doesnt work hdmi too, this is because the lastest steed droid does not have the support, check out that in the official steel droid page, we gotta wait! And i also tried flashind dlna zip files from the old steel droid and didnt work!
Search tags for this page
cyanogenmod hdmi audio droid x2
,
does the droid dna have an hdmi output
,

droid 3 hdmi out

,

droid 3 hdmi output

,
droid 3 hdmi port
,
droid bionic hdmi in cyanogenmod
,

droid bionic hdmi output

,
droid bionic hdmi output problem
,
droid hdmi out
,
droid x hdmi out activate
,
droid3 cyanogenmod hdmi
,
hdmi on motorola droid 3
,
hdmi out droid 3
,
motorola blur connection hdmi
,
motorola droid 3 hdmi output