HDMI out

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by mcatdtDroid, May 31, 2011.

  1. mcatdtDroid

    mcatdtDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I know there are some video that doesn't play HDMI out. And some that do.

    So I need a checklist for what I need to play anything on my TV at home. Is there an app that puts my dx on my TV that I need to download? I know I need the cord, but if I want to watch a movie, play a YouTube clip or even check my Facebook on my TV....what do I need?

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  2. cubuff

    cubuff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hdmi cord is it

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  3. kennydied23

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Whatever your phone supports, it will be able to play on the tv. As for the apps, you can download a free app called "Xternal Display for Droid X", or a paid app "RealHDMI" if you're on Gingerbread.
     
  4. techsnif

    techsnif New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hdmi to HDTV works fine, not clear picture though

    just got the droid charge, plugged in hdmi to HDTV, works great. I can watch veetle and youtube videos. HOWEVER, the picture on the HDTV is lesser quality than if I just hdmi from my laptop to HDTV. It's almost as if the great HD picture quality on the Droid Charge is simply enlarged on my HDTV so that you actually see the pixels. It is a 58" HDTV, maybe that's why. But still, my laptop sends a great HD picture to the HDTV.
    I thought maybe by using youtube (browser mode), instead of (youtube mode) it would show 720p resolution on my HDTV. But it doesn't achieve 720p (or like it) on my HDTV.
    Anyone have anything?
     
  5. rbw62

    rbw62 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Try Dolphin HD browser.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. techsnif

    techsnif New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, i'll try that

    thx, i'll let you know if it works
     
  7. techsnif

    techsnif New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    tried Dolphin Browser HD for HDMI pixellation problem

    didn't work. Same pixellation problem. Does the Dolphin browser have any setting for HDMI output? Or, is there a way to make the droid charge mimic a desktop computer in sending 720p or 1080p video to my HDTV. The problem seems to be that the Droid Charge does not have any settings that you can change for the resolution of the HDMI output. At least, if it does, I can't find the screen that gives me HDMI options. HD video looks awesome on the droid charge, but terrible on my HDTV when send via HDMI cable. The cable is a high quality Belkin cable.
    I've read other forums for other phones that the problem was solved simply by changing HDMI video output settings to 720p 60mhz(or hz?). I can't find where I can do this on the Droid Charge.
     
  8. fatpomp

    fatpomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Los Angles,Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm not sure about the charge but on my X if I go to Menu> Settings> HDMI there is an option to change the HDMI format.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. techsnif

    techsnif New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hdmi out settings don't exist on charge

    i know. I've read that about other phones. The charge does not have anything under settings referring to HDMI. It seems that I CANNOT CHANGE the HDMI OUT settings.
     
  10. ezMesican

    ezMesican New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I bought an HDMI cable from Amazon, connected it, but I don't get display or sound. Am I supposed to do something to the phone? I rebooted and it was still the same. I'm using SteelDroid ROM and the cable I bought was this: Amazon.com: Fosmon HDMI to Micro HDMI Cable (6 Feet): Electronics I don't know if I needed a certain type of cable or what. Someone help me with this please
     
  11. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +139
    I have a strong hunch your cable is fine. I was disgusted to see that HBOGo doesn't work. I also see that a bunch of apps will display on my Panasonic TV, but most with no sound (several games work). At the moment, the best I can get is plugging the HDMI into a 25" LCD monitor, and I consistently get video+sound on that. So it appears that HDMI is quite picky.

    There is already a bit of discussion around on this question, most of it focusing on going into your TV settings, and playing with the HDMI-in options.

    -Matt
     
  12. msjohnson2868

    msjohnson2868 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some ROMs don't have the hdmi feature. It is a function of the Motorola hardware, and is built into motoblur, but may not be in your rom. Especially if it is a port. Not familiar with yours though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  13. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Steel DROID doesn't have functioning HDMI. Only MOTOBLUR ROMs.

    Boot Manager
     
  14. ezMesican

    ezMesican New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aw man : ( I guess I'll give this cable to my sister for her X
     
  15. Dilligaf

    Dilligaf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll bet there's some kind of DRM bulls**t involved here, especially with the premium content.
     
Search tags for this page
dolphin browser resolution hdmi
,
free hdmi app
,

hdmi out on smartphone does not work on some apps

,
how to change hdmi output setting on samsung android charge
,
samsung charge hdmi to tv
,
what can i do with the hdmi on droid x