1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HDMI audio output

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by asghar, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I connect the phone to my TV, I only get video, no audio. Have gone through all the options on the TV with no luck, using a brand new cable so chances are less but could be the cable. Anyone else tried using the HDMI yet?

    Ever since I have tired using the HDMI, I am having issues with Skype and also that the phone screen does not turn off anymore after non-activity. I have powered cycled once already. Also I do not see apps getting flagged for updates in market anymore, use to see this.

    Any ideas?
  2. jacobrv
    Offline

    jacobrv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried hdmi on 2 tvs and both had audio in mirror mode. however a problem I've has was both tvs only gave me 720p in webtop when one them is 1080p.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. Renae
    Offline

    Renae New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Okay, really simple check for you...make sure the media volume is turned up. I made this mistake and was really confused.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  4. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For video, the TV tells me I have a 1080P connection, not sure if the video looked like 1080P or not. Was using mirror mode also.

    Audio, I jogged the TV volume up and down, using the volume jogger on the side of the phone I tried that also. I think I am going to walk into Best Buy and ask them to test the cable for me (using my phone and connecting to their TV since I bought the cable from them). if it works there, then I need to figure out what TV setting it keeping this from happening although I have gone through all the menu for it.

    BTW, the phone is working better now as far as turning off from no activity after I stopped the Moto doc app and power cycled the unit.
  5. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    Once you connect to HDMI the bug fixed in the forth coming fix can only be reset by power cycling the phone... also, you need to go into settings and reset the sleep overide option. See the notes from VZ...
    As far as HDMI output... its automatic now and the TV setting is where the adjustment needs to be made... hope that helps... Check audio settings on the tv under or associated with HDMI.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked at Best Buy on their TV, need to figure out what TV setting is keeping this from playing.

    What is the best way of ending the HDMI connection, just pull the cable?
  7. brent.murray
    Offline

    brent.murray New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    I'm having the same Audio issue. Video working fine, no prob there. I checked all my audio vol. settings and everything was fine. It's a brand new OEM verizon HDMI cable. I tried multiple modes, tried settings on tv, no audio.... :icon_evil::icon_evil::icon_evil::icon_evil:
  8. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which TV do you have? I have a Sharp, I have not played again with the TV since trying it out at Best Buy.
  9. Mugenized
    Offline

    Mugenized New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having the same problem. I tried it with my receiver (new model Pioneer purchased last year) and an older Sharp LCD. Video displays without a problem but there is no audio. I turned up the volume on both the phone and the receiver and TV. The cable I got was from Monoprice and I thought it might be the cable's fault so I had them send a new one. The same thing happens. Also, I tried another Bionic that was purchased at the same time and the same thing happens (though I haven't tried it with the new cable). All other HDMI equipment that was plugged into the receiver required no additional settings to be changed so I'm a bit stumped as to what's going on.
  10. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    Are you rooted? I had no problems non rooted but I'll check again tonight rooted... Winter player are you using to view from and where are the files stored?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  11. Mugenized
    Offline

    Mugenized New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, neither Bionics I tried were rooted. I tried using Google Music, YouTube, and Cut the Rope (game) and no sound. The moment I unplug the cable, I get sound from the phone.
  12. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    Try playing a video with rock player lite... Is a free download... Curious as to what happens.... Let me know.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  13. johnnyazn
    Offline

    johnnyazn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same problem with my Panasonic 50in plasma. Great video, but no audio. Used same cable to a old samsung 32", works just fine. Anyone figure this problem out yet?
  14. tono80
    Offline

    tono80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LG 50 inch plasma from 2006. Fios and DVD player work fine. Bionic, no luck with sound. Looking forward for a solution.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  15. safety
    Offline

    safety New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't tried mirror mode, but I can tell you that webtop works perfect for me. I have noticed that I need the phone volume all the way up and the tv volume about half way to get decent sound. I am rooted using Liberty 3 1.0 rom. I will try mirror mode in a few minutes and let you know if it works for me.

    Edit: Mirror mode works as well and the volume was much louder.
  16. short283
    Offline

    short283 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a droid bionic and every time I hook it up to my tv via HDMI or USB my phone freezes and I am hooking to a samsung 43" LCD HDTV not sure what the problem is but hopefully OTA update .893 fixes this issue as well

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  17. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is an odd problem. I plugged my Bionic into my TV using my long HDMI cable that I have an extender plugged into the HMDI TO HDMI micro and I have no problems in mirror mode. I can wait to try webtop when I get my Webtop Adapter. Just make sure you don't have anything plugged into your headphone jack! All audio and video will go through your HDMI. Just want to make sure you are not trying to plug your mini jack (3.5" headphone jack) into the TV as well.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  18. johnnyazn
    Offline

    johnnyazn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried everything. Volume is up, nothing plugged into the jack. I even tried it through my HDMI out on my Onkyo receiver. I get picture but no sound. Called motorola and they wanted me to factory reset my 2 wk old phone. I don't think its an issue with the phone seeing how it works on one tv and not the other. Could it be the cord? Are the cords brand specific? Any insight would be helpful. Thanks!
  19. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cables played a part in my LG Revolution not connecting well to my TV. I bought a cheap $1 cable from Amazon and it had problems giving me a solid connection in general, video and audio. I got a better cable from the cell phone kiosk at an Airforce Base Exchange and it worked much better. My TV is a Toshiba 46" 3D. Make sure you try a direct connection to the TV, not just through your receiver. I don't know what a factory reset will do to help, but you never know what will. Good Luck!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  20. short283
    Offline

    short283 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the high speed hdmi cable from the Verizon store it is supose to be for any hdmi capable phone. But I do not believe it is the cable cause my usb cable causes the same issues such as freezing and major lagging which leads me to believe it is my phone or possibly my tv not being fully compatible with my phone not sure yet but the tv should me but im considering it an option due to the fact I hope its not my phone lol I got enough problems with the dissapearing data signal

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

android hdmi audio out droid x

,

android hdmi audio output

,
android set audio output from hdmi
,
cant get sound on droid bionic cable
,
disable audio for hdmi android
,
droid 3 hdmi sound static problem
,
droid bionic tv out
,
droid bonic sleep screen while in hdmi
,
droid razr output audio hdmi
,
fix android to tv hdmi no audio
,
hdmi audio output for android
,
no sounds on my droid 1080p
,
vlc player hdmi audio output droid x2
,
why is there no sound when i connect my phone to tv by hdmi
,
will droiad x2 hook up to chevy cruz hdmi