HC 2.1 Rom Issue

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bogdan912, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had Greek's 2.1 rom installed, and switched because of the lag I was experiencing. The HC rom seems much faster with less little issues, however since the install my GPS functionality is gone, the GPS appears to start and run but MAPS can't find me, Weather doesn't find my location either.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. dtyrewilliams
    Offline

    dtyrewilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. Just keeps telling me that my location is unavailable.
     
  3. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might be a deal breaker for me, I love this ROM but without GPS I lose a lot of my favorite things about the droid..
     
  4. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine has been working fine. No issues using it. I am using the copy with the clear status bar.
     
  5. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google Maps/Nav and Weather all work if I have both "Use GPS Satellites" and "Use wireless networks" checked, however if I uncheck "use wireless networks" I lose all GPS functionality.

    So, my GPS is not working, the phone is using Cell Towers to locate my position.
     
  6. miamidroid
    Offline

    miamidroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    why dont you guys use greeks rom? I have been using greeks rom for a few days and havent run into any unknown issues.. Infact the issues I do notice is that the screen doesnt dim using the diming widget, it does auto dim, and the keyboard lighting is inconsistent. But it runs smooth and I have like 60apps.. I was looking at the videos of the nexus and the switching between home screens is just as quick, and the one I saw was a fresh fone, no apps or even contacts. I love this rom, I even have tethering working perfectly.
     
  7. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The tethering kernel mod breaks Dimming.

    I had bad lag with Greeks Rom, installed this one and the phone is much faster and doesn't have as many quirks like reboots and force close of programs like Greeks.
     
  8. messenger13
    Offline

    messenger13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't like Greek's ROM either, a lot of FCs and reboots. Ugh!
    HC's was better, but still not super smooth. Then I got rid of Live Wallpapers, and she's running very smoothly now. I just checked my GPS, and it found my location within a few feet ... no problem.
     
  9. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you look in your settings and see if you are also using the cell towers?