1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Having trouble with Windows 7 and flashing sbf files? Look Inside

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by adrynalyne, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had posted this as a response on another forum, but I think it bears repeating as its the ONLY way I can get RSD Lite to work on my Windows 7 machine.



    Set RSDLite to run as admin, then use a command console, either powershell or cmd.exe and run it from command line:

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Motorola\RSD Lite\SDL.exe -f xxxx.sbf -t 2"

    Where xxx.sbf includes the location and name of the sbf file.

    For example, this is what I had to do to get it running under win7 64 bit.

    1. Started up powershell.
    2. changed directory to where SDL.exe is ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Motorola\RSD Lite\")
    3. Renamed my sbf file to 21.sbf and placed it at the root of another partition (try different locations if one doesn't work, preferably at the root of the drive).
    4. SDL.exe -f D:\21.sbf -t 2.
    5. Let it finish flashing.
  2. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Thanks, I'm having trouble also... but will try the root of the drive portion...
  3. ThePravus
    Offline

    ThePravus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I found that post with google worked perfectly.
  4. firefalldown
    Offline

    firefalldown New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you try changing the file name?

    Mine wouldn't flash until i changed the file name to something shorter like


    201.sbf

    Try that and see if it works everytime
  5. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Is this a setting in Win7?

    -Mike
  6. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you recommend for those of us who don't use Windows?
    (Linux multiple flavors)

    Ehud
  7. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    I run Win7 Prox74 and can simply click RSD from my program menu and it opens up and I have flashed an SBF ONCE to change my boot image from the Motorola M to a "bad Robot" image [​IMG]
  8. GU3RO
    Offline

    GU3RO New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wont work for me

    I have tried renaming the sbf file, moving it to root of both c and d drives, ran the cmd commands... Every single time I get a Fail for results. Im stuck on 2.1 and its getting a little irritating. :'(
  9. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "I get a Fail for results."

    We can't help you without a good description of a long process nor error conditions.

    It doesn't matter where the file is. Make sure it downloaded successfully, has the right length, and that RSDLITE can communicate with your phone.

    Make sure you're running as Administrator.

    Make sure RSDLITE picks up information from your phone.

    Try without installing the Motorola drivers.

    Try with.

    Report your results.

    E
  10. GU3RO
    Offline

    GU3RO New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I fig it'd skip the noob **** but here ya go...

    I have tried this on 2 different pc's. Both vista, both 32 bit, both with and without drivers. I have tried placing the sbf files in different locations on both pc's. I have tried running rsd as admin, compatibility mode, and regular on both pcs. I have tried it with the 2.0.1 file and the 2.0 file as well. The phone looks to be recognized in rsd with no problem, and it can locate the file as well. But the second I click start it get results error. Also, when i click start, status changes from Connected... to "Failed flashing process. Failed flashing process. (0x7100); phone connected"

    Anything I forgot??
    ~G
  11. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing I can think of except... MAYBE try safety mode?
    E
  12. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had something similar to the guy who said he shortend the sbf file, when i ran rsd lite it took me awhile to figure it out because it would find my phone, i would load the sbf but the start button wasn't enabled. after fooling around I found that it only work with certain lengths of foldername/filename.sbf (ie. c:\sbf\21.sbf might not work but c:\sb\21.sbf or c:\sbf\1.sbf would work) it was like it had a hardcoded expected folder length or something. but once i figured out the right combination of letters it enabled my start button and i could flash successfully.
  13. GU3RO
    Offline

    GU3RO New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How would I do that??
  14. dwz07
    Offline

    dwz07 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i aslo had a weird experience with RSDlite.. had to use it on my sister's droid. the first time i ran it, it went through and did it's thing but at the end it told me to manually reboot phone and never gave me a "complete" status (waited about half an hour or better) so i finally unplugged the phone and all was good. the second time i had to run it, again it did it's thing but at the end it said "failed" yet the phone booted perfectly into stock with the hand poking the android and everything lol. her phones fine now and hasn't given her any more problems.. just my .02 though

    p.s. i was running it on windows 7 x86, but just looked and "run as admin" wasn't checked...
  15. ArchAngel
    Offline

    ArchAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    california
    same problem here installed the latest .net reinstalled rsd and moto drivers and the world is a beautiful place, flashed 1st time 100%
Search tags for this page
sbf files for android to windows 7
,

sdl.exe motorola

,
sdl.exe rsd lite 64 bit