Having trouble with ADB shell (permission denied)...what am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by r314bd, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    I rooted properly I think, used the one click update.zip and I now have the Superuser Permissions icon in my apps list. I am trying to get the wireless tether and I'm following this tutorial: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...d-wifi-tether-wireless-tether-root-users.html

    I downloaded the Android Developer Kit for 2.0.1 and I can get to the ADB shell from my command prompt. I added "C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\Tools" to the PATH in the "Environmental Variables" section of My Computer properties (it's where I copied mine, saw this on a YouTube tutorial) My Droid is plugged in to my laptop and USB debugging is on.

    What am I doing wrong? I can't believe I'm getting stuck on the very first step :(
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    After connecting/launching adb shell did your ninja come up and prompt you to give SU permission to the app? Did you click 'remember'?
     
  3. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Download Terminal Emulator and type su in it. Like said before about a pop-up box set to remember. If u don't get the prompt u don't have root. Look for a correct root update.zip
     
  4. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Well I figured out what the problem was...I wasn't in my SDK->tools folder lol. I changed the path and didn't get the message any more.

    However, this is still complicated as hell and half the commands in the tutorials aren't working properly for me. I give up, for now. Maybe in a few days I'll try again lol.
     
  5. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    what are you using adb shell for? You can just put the wifi tether .apk on your sd, open it with astro and install...


    ETA: dont give up on learning adb shell, its amazingly useful for basically everything. But if the wifi tether is your #1 priority, it can be done the way I said and you can take your time figuring out adb shell
     
  6. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya, for some reason, I had a hard time picking up adb, was not paying attention to the details I guess. One time I would be using adb commands in shell, then I'd 'accidentally' figure out what I did wrong, so I never learned what I was doing wrong. It would literally go like this...

    adb shell
    su
    adb push ......
    'hmmm, scratch head...'
    adb push.......
    exit
    adb push....
    '?why did it work that time..'
    mount -o remount,rw......
    'oh...'
    su
    mount -o re.....
    'why is this not working now'
    'oh...'
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount......
    FINALLY..
     
  7. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    LMAO that's exactly what I went through haha

    Luckily I found ChevyNo1's exe file which automated the whole thing...although I wish I had found it 4 hours ago :mad:
     
  8. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't run adb from inside adb. Does that help explain it? "adb shell" is a command you run to get a terminal on the droid. From that terminal, you can run commands on the droid. You can't run adb from the droid, because adb is on the computer, not the droid.

    It worked that time because you weren't already in adb when you tried to run an adb command.

    "mount" is a command you run to remount the droid filesystem as read/write (so you can write to it). You run that from the droid, so you need to be in adb shell (and root) to do it - so it only worked after you ran "adb shell" and "su"

    It helps a lot to know what the commands you're running are doing:

    "adb shell" -> using a computer, open up a remote terminal to run commands on the droid (things you type after this are run on the droid, until you type "exit")

    "adb push" -> push a file from the computer to the droid.

    "su" -> become root (give yourself admin access). This will pop up a window on the droid to allow/deny. This needs to be run on the droid (through adb shell or in terminal emulator)

    "mount -o remount,rw /system" -> remount the filesystem as read/write. This allows you to write to it (normally it is read-only)

    "mount -o remount,ro /system" -> remount the filesystem as read-only. This makes it so you can no longer write to it.

    "sync" -> synchronize the filesystem. This means that it will finish writing whatever it is currently writing. Not really needed, but it is a good percaution to make sure that whatever you were changing has completed before rebooting (you don't want half a corrupt file!)
     
Search tags for this page
adb permission denied
,
adb remount permission denied
,
adb shell permission
,

adb shell permission denied

,
adb shell root permission denied
,
adb shell su permission denied
,
how to get shell root permission
,
permission denied in adb shell
,
shell root permission
,
shell root permission failed