1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Having sooo much trouble please help!!

Discussion in 'Droid X Rooted Help' started by kefferjoe, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. kefferjoe
    Offline

    kefferjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I am getting furious with my phone right now!! SO i rooted my phone downloaded both premium and the regular rom manager app and when i try to download a rom from this app it downloads then asks two things pop up and on the first window i check both options(i forget what they are) then the second window asks to reboot and install and i go through with that and then it turns off and then back on but the rom doesnt go through!!! idk what to do! and i have tried to dowload an older version of clockworkrom recovery but it gives me an error message saying "an error occurred while downloading your recovery" i am thouroghly ticked any help is appreciated.
  2. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is your recovery up to date?

    You can always go into Clockwork mod manually and install that way. It's the most stable way I do. Never have problems.
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First thing is to breathe...we'll get you straight! Will ROM Manager let you "Flash Alternate Recovery"??

    DroidForums junkie!
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Are you sure that the download completed? If you have access to wifi switch. the two options, make a backup/wipe data and cache. Did you click both?
  5. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    like kook said, the safest and most reliable way to flash a rom is manually thru recovery. i never, and i mean NEVER, flash a rom using Rom Mgr. i always do it manually in recovery, and never have a problem.

    if you don't want to do that, you can try to "flash alternate recovery" in RM. flash to SPR, then flash back to CWM, and then try to install it.
  6. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice...it's like a helping frenzy. I love it.

    I agree with mwhartman also. It may have not fully downloaded. Check your status bar for the progress.
  7. kefferjoe
    Offline

    kefferjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    They are fully downloaded and i have like three of them and none of them work and and i flash clockworkmod recovery and it says it is successful and if i manually reboot into recovery i dont see any of the roms available to boot from :/

    Also i have no "flash alternate recovery"
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm not a RM expert but I believe when the rom downloads you scroll the notification bar down and tap to install.
  9. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    if you are using RM, then you do have it. on the main screen, scroll down to the bottom. the second to last choice is "Flash Alternate Recovery". Press that, and that will flash SPRecovery. When that is successful, your first choice on the main screen is "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery". Choose that, and it will flash you back to CWM. Then try to flash the rom.

    to do it manually, you'll have to find out where, on your sdcard, RM dl's the roms (i'm not sure where it stores them, cuz i never use it). then you'll need to move the rom file out of the folder, and paste it on the root of your sdcard. then boot into recovery and manually flash the rom.

    or, you can dl the rom on your pc and just copy it to the root of your sdcard. that's how i always do it.

  10. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are stored on your SD card under "Clockwork" There should be a bunch of files on there that are pretty random. Just navigate through them until you find the zip you're looking for.
  11. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks kook! i was looking in the R's for Rom Mgr - duh...
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Yes CW a download and backup folder
  13. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    haha....I think I did that at first as well. I use RM to download stuff and then navigate my SD card through Clockwork to install. Has worked well for me.
  14. kefferjoe
    Offline

    kefferjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Ok so the problem with this flash alternate recovery button is it cant be pressed lol its dark grey and under it it says there is no alternate recovery available
    also when i try to load a new rom it goes into recovery makes an unpacking picture like something is coming out of a box then the load bar goes about 1/3 of the way across then it shuts off again and the phone turns on normally.
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    It is grayed because you have CW flashed
  16. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may be off, but you might have to check the "Advanced User" in the settings menu in RM.
  17. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    kook took the words out of my mouth - do that.

    if your rom isn't fully loading in recovery, then that tells me you have a problem with the dl. this is why i never use RM to dl roms. i always dl them to my pc, and then copy them to my sdcard.
  18. kefferjoe
    Offline

    kefferjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Ok so what i have done so far is i have mounted a rom to my sd card...do i need to name it update.zip i checked that box and now i shall reboot into recovery mode by holding the home button and power then pressing the search button then what all do i do?
  19. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    if you're using CWM, you don't need to name the rom "update.zip" - that's just for SPR. but, if you have it named update.zip, no problem. boot into recovery by holding down the x key and pressing power button. when M logo shows up, release the power button, but keep pressing x until you boot into recovery. then select "wipe data/factory reset". then select "wipe cache partition". then go into "partitions menu", and "format boot" and "format system". then press the power button one time, to toggle back to the main menu. select "install zip from sdcard". then scroll thru the sdcard files until you find your rom zip file, and select it to install. once it's done installing, press the power button once to toggle back to main menu, and select "reboot system now".

    EDIT: i am assuming you have already done a nandroid backup?? if you haven't, do that first, before you wipe.
  20. kefferjoe
    Offline

    kefferjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I cannot find this "partitions menu" and such it is not on here
    Also i am on a droid x so holding the x button isnt what i do...i believe it is the home button and the power button then the search button
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010