Having Issues With SS 5.4, Any Suggestions?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by SWFLDroid, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. SWFLDroid

    SWFLDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed Cyanogenmod for a while and had nothing but problems so I switched to the latest ChevyNo1 ROM a few days ago and it seemed to run great right out of the gate.
    Now, low and behold, only a few days in and loads of bugs and glitches seem to be creeping in. The screen is often black when I first wake the phone prior to unlocking the screen, battery life is poor, the Market often times will not work, picture messages take forever to send, ect.
    So, my question is, should I try to tweak this ROM or is there another one that I might want to try?
     
  2. acpowell

    acpowell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope this helps

    I had a few issues with SS 5.4 after a few weeks of installing. I decided to go back to the SS 4.96 but it was just not the same. I decided to do some research. I found some tweaks and then found the V6 SuperCharger from Zeppelinrox. Ran it as well as a few other Tweaks posted by MetalSpring.

    Try these out and it should help alot. Mine has been running Great since. dancedroid

    V6 SuperCharger: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...tproof-launchers-fix-memory-all-androids.html

    SS 5.4 Tweaks for all: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/chevyno1/154543-simply-stunning-5-4-tweaks-all.html
     
  3. middleP

    middleP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too was super dancedroidafter switching to Chevy's ROM. But after about 3 weeks I have noticed similar issues. Lots of force closes, few freezes, occasional auto-reboots.

    I have tried 2 different kernels which helped momentarily - as does using the integrated task killer (but this even freezes up every other attempt). I have done the tweaks suggested, but haven't tried out the v6 supercharger.

    So, fellow droiders any other suggestions?

    Is supercharger worth trying? V6 or V8?
    Is it worth wiping everything and starting over?
    Or only dalvik cache, regular cache and .android_secure (as suggested here: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/chevyno1/160177-ss-5-4-runnin-bit-slow-3.html)
    Over clocking further?
    Trying a different, performance type kernel?

    I'd like to avoid reloading apps/widgets/etc if I can... so any suggestions that start here would be appreciated.

    As always, thanks a bunch!
     
  4. spc_hicks09

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
    I know this is how you already installed the ROM but....

    Charge to 100%
    Wipe data/factory reset 3 times
    wipe cache partition 3 times
    wipe dalvik cache 3 times
    Wipe battery stats 3 times

    Experiment with different kernels. I use the 1100mhz medium voltage kernel and i get over 30 hours on stock battery and over 50 on extended life battery. Not too many people can run the 1100 mhz kernels (or medium voltage kernels). The one I would suggest is probably the 1000mhz low voltage or ultra low voltage kernel.

    I use a SetCPU "screen off" profile of a Max of 550 and a Min of 250 using the powersave governor.
     
  5. acpowell

    acpowell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which kernel are you using? I have been using the Chevy kernels without problems.

    Running fix permissions from Chevy tools will fix most of the force closes.

    I recommend the V6 supercharged script. No need in wiping to run the script.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. middleP

    middleP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pretty sure the 1.25Ghz-lowV is the last one I have tried.

    Went to Chevy's tools, scripts, then checked fixed permissions. "fixed permissions" has now been running for at least 10 or 15 minutes. Is this NORMAL? Should I pull the battery?

    Thanks, I will give this a shot.
     
  7. acpowell

    acpowell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    The fix permissions can take a few minutes but not sure it should take that long. Warning, this will turn off the auto rotate so don't worry if that stops after it runs.

    You may want to try the deprimed kernel from Prime. Its not Chevy but a friend of mine swears by it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. Paidnfull

    Paidnfull Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question, in the Supercharger obstructions it says to uncheck Lock Home in Memory for it to work. Mine is checked and grayed out in Chevy tools and Cyanogenmod tools. Any ideas how to uncheck that?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. Oxymoron

    Oxymoron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    + 1 on this. I was having weird issues, and after I switched to deprimed they've all vanished.

    I tried pretty much every kernel from Chevys latest batch, but my particular D1 just doesn't care for those. I even reflashed the ROM multiple times.... themed, unthemed, and with every kernel combination.

    Right now I'm running 5.4 with deprimed kernel, V6 supercharger, and ADW EX. Running the best it ever has.

    Good luck to you man, happy androiding.

    *customized tapatalk signature*
     
  10. gerend

    gerend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    People's Republic of California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Edit build.prop

    Using root explorer or similar method, you must edit /system/build.prop to remove the "HOME_APP_ADJ" line from the file, then reboot.

    Personally, I used Terminal (executed su and sysrw commands) and copied it to /sdcard, edited it with my text editor, then copied it back to /system.
     
  11. Ma_USMC

    Ma_USMC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0

    ^^ This exactly. Haven't tried the V6 Supercharger yet but I have been holding off until after 5.5...
     
  12. alpine

    alpine Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Link to the kernels?
     
  13. acpowell

    acpowell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. Paidnfull

    Paidnfull Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found that line in Root Explorer. I can just delete that line and I'm good?
     
  15. middleP

    middleP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It took a couple of attempts, but after selecting fix permissions I now get the reboot necessary statement....
    but after rebooting and checking, fix permissions is no longer checked. Is this typical? (I'm not exactly sure what selecting this does, so don;t know if it runs on bootup once, is something that needs to stay selected, etc.)


    Does this permanently turn it off or can it be returned on?

    Thanks!