Having big problems CM-> ESE53

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by titans, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was running CM 5.0.6.2 with Apps2SD enabled, and decided I wanted to go back to a ESE53 ROM. I flashed SPRecovery, wiped data and cache twice, and loaded the rom.tgz of the ESE53 ROM (AdamZ's smoked glass). However, When I tried to load the rom the first time, I had gotten a nandroid error 99, so I flashed an old UD backup I had, redownloaded the ROM, wiped data and cache again (twice) and then tried flashing the newly downloaded ROM. The problem is, when I booted up from what I can tell only the Droid style font and a couple of apps I selected to be installed from the Smoked Glass ROM. EVerything else is from my old UD backup, it's like SPRecovery mixed the two rom's together...any help, please?

    **********
    Edit: I tried an ADB format system, cache, data, then tried reinstallation of the Smoked Glass ROM, got nandroid 99 again.
     
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any ideas?
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump.'............
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,462
    Likes Received:
    2,797
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    Ill ask around. I know some one who knows this CM pretty well.
     
  5. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,462
    Likes Received:
    2,797
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    roladroid is the one one I PMed about it since he is running and has a real good grasp of CM:

    here was his respnse:

    I have never Partitioned my sdcard and haven't enabled apps to SD. However, It sound to me like he needs to save all the important things on his sdcard to his desktop and format the card ..this will take the partition portion away, to me it sounds like some parts of a ROM are in one partitioned area and other parts of another ROM are in another. Once the card is formatted and system is wiped, this should go away...I would definitely start all over if I was in his shoes ... I haven't heard of error 99 though?
     
  6. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm thanks ........ Gonna try that when I get home
     
  7. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having problems formating the SD card...I mount the SD card using my Droid, right click on Removable Disk (I'm 100% sure I'm clicking the right one), click format, and it says it doesn't recognize it, and it unmounts my SD card. I've had a lot of trouble so I decided to flash the 2.0.1 SBF, install DroidMod, and restart from there. However, what should I know about flashing the sbf? So if I flash the 2.0.1 SBF, it will flash my phone back to 2.0.1, and all I have to do is resign into google and *228 right? Will it reformat my SD card too? Is there anything else that the SBF does?
     
  8. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone out there that can answer these questions? I'd like to have my phone fixed before I have to sleep =)
     
  9. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey titans, Can you boot into ClockworkMod Recovery? There is an option to format the card there.
     
  10. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, yes I am atm =). To get it back to a stock card, should I format sd-ext, sd card, or both?
     
  11. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would do both. I suggest wiping everything and starting over. Once you partition the sdcard, You are now able to use apps2sd and store your apps in the sd-ext folder. With everything that got mixed together, I would just Format both. Did you save important files from the card to your PC? I wouldn't worry too much about the nandroid backups seeing how they may have been contaminated as well.
     
  12. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep I backed up my info to my pc thanks...do you have any information regarding my RSD lite questions? Trying to make sure I don't mess up my phone
     
  13. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Honestly, I don't see any reason to do so. Once you have formatted the sdcard, factory reset, and clear the cache all within the recovery, you should be good to go. If it's something that you are going to lose sleep over, then by all means do it. I have seen some issues with computer software though mostly win vista, win 7, and obviously mac. You may also get the 2.1 OTA update prompt once the flash is complete. I truly believe flashing any sbf file is like running to me, I only do it in life or death situations. Why not try formatting everything, get your ROM of choice, and see if the phone gives you any grief in a day or two.
     
  14. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help guys, I was able to reformat the SD Card and flash the .sbf succesffully. It's time to have a fresh start to the phone (if you had my phone, you could see that it got messed up somehow). Thanks
     
  15. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're Welcome Titans.