Have managed to brick phone

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mattmend, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. mattmend

    mattmend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like the apparent noob I am, I apparently bricked my phone upgrading to 2.1. I got Nandroid set up, wiped system, data and cache and when I rebooted, there was no option to restore the new 2.1 image. I still have adb access to the SD card but no matter what I try, I can't get it going again. I've got the modified recovery image there and now have an option to restore from Nandroid but no matter how many times I recopy the new 2.1 image to /sdcard/nandroid and restore it, the phone just sits at the Moto logo. I'm at a loss as to what to try next.

    Any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated more than you know. Clearly I was over my head and didn't realize it.

    Matt
     
  2. vzwmandroid

    vzwmandroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Homestead, FL 33030
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only way I'll try something like rooting my Droid, is if I had two of them. I hope you have a back up phone
     
  3. mattmend

    mattmend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No of course I don't own two of them.

    For those who may have other troubleshooting ideas, I have SirPsychoS (0.14.0) recovery image installed if that helps at all.
     
  4. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you install your original Nandroid backup?
     
  5. mattmend

    mattmend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried that and it was overwritten. I have zero original backup at this point. Just makes no sense why I can't put the fresh 2.1 or even 2.01 onto it from Nandroid. Just don't know what i could be missing.
     
  6. pinesal

    pinesal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need to find an update.zip for DROID. Not sure if one exists yet.
     
  7. mattmend

    mattmend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    there's the 2.01 update. that wouldn't help? (actually i think i tried it and it gives me the error that it can't stat /system/build)
     
  8. mattmend

    mattmend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found the problem. Any nandroid updates can't just have the individual files placed in /sdcard/nandroid. My path for proper restore had to be /sdcard/nandroid/console=ttyS2,115200n8/BCDMRS-19700101-0011 in order to properly install.

    Hope this helps someone else.
     
  9. mrZoSo

    mrZoSo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you have no sub folders in there as well.
     
  10. mattmend

    mattmend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm confused. The sub-folders seemed to fix my problem. When I unzipped the new 2.1 update directly to nandroid, that's when I couldn't get the restore to happen...
     
  11. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems like you have solved your problem, however a detailed writeup to help others in your situation would be really helpful

    thanks
     
  12. mrZoSo

    mrZoSo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The console dir is fine, I'm talking within that one.
    Seen this on another thread:
     
Search tags for this page

droid x2 brick