Has anyoen tried this "steam rom"

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by actngrezy, Jun 2, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. actngrezy
    Offline

    actngrezy Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    delaware
    Ratings:
    +2
    MyDroidWorld - Steam Rom 4.0.6.1 Wicked Sick Nasty

    Looks like it has alot of features and parts of other roms intergrated into it. However I'm not sure if you can use sprecovery to install it which unfortunatley I still use (because its proven) so dont ask why.

    If anyone trys it or has tried it let me know
  2. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think you can use any recovery you want on it
    go into irc #steamrom and find out
  3. actngrezy
    Offline

    actngrezy Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    delaware
    Ratings:
    +2

    Thank you, Yes you can use sp but he suggests clockwork so you can have different themes and what not. If anyone does try this let me know the outcome
  4. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using his Steam RC1 rom for the past couple of weeks. It has to be one of my favorites. Its super quick and fluid. I've had maybe one fc the entire time I've been using it as well. Combined with launcher pro its even better. The RC1 build installed fine with spr so this one should as well. Updating to this momentarily
  5. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    wont install correctly for me, never gets past the M screen on my droid no matter what recovery i use
  6. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have been using 4.0.6.1 for the past week. Real snappy and quick no complaints. If you have problems installing it try not wiping data/cache. I had the same problem with bootloops. But the 4.0.6.1 doesnt have that problem. really good rom good job mrbobroitz
  7. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Try NOT wiping data/cache? Sure I'll give it a shot
  8. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used it for 1 week and it was awesome...ran great
  9. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes sounds crazy but worked for me.
  10. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    still doesn't work. but i've noticed that every time it installs it only installs the boot part, maybe that's why it's not working. of course i've downloaded the test3 stock version so idk why it does this...
  11. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmm...stumped are you using clockwork or SPRecovery?
  12. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    I used both. They both have the same results, even when using Rom Manager
  13. actngrezy
    Offline

    actngrezy Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    delaware
    Ratings:
    +2
    Your phoen might not like the kernel it comes with did you try to flash the rom then try a different kernel. I believe it came with bekit 1ghz not 100 percent sure but I thought thats what it said but hey its worth a shot.

    On rom manager you can also format your system,data, cache , and boot. I would try and format your boot img then flash the rom.

    I use adb to do them 4 steps before every rom install. not really needed but can't hurt to be sure all files are gone from previous rom. My friend often has roblem loading new roms and if he gets caught in a bootloop tryin to laod a new rom none of his backups will work. Its really weird so we always end up keeping a copy of bb v1 on hisphoen because that always boot incase of that issue.
  14. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok ill try changing to a chevy kernel
  15. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Still doesn't work as I'm stuck at the M logo. Guess I'll try a few more kernels before I revert back to BB1.1

    Edit: no matter how many kernels I try it still bootloops.
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
Search tags for this page

no steam.rom

,
steampunk rom for android
,
steampunk rom for droid 4
,
steampunk theme for android