1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Has anybody else picked up wifi issues with Froyo?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by ggaabe, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I know I started a Froyo problems thread before but I have a wee bit of a strange case now. My wifi only worked 2 minutes at a time on 2.1, then would slow down. I put the leaked 2.2 on my DX and my dads DX. Every issue gets fixed, including wifi. Now about 2 weeks later, today, both our wifi signals can't stay connected for more than 1 or 2 seconds at a time and it never really connects, meanwhile the wifi works perfectly on my ipod touch. What could have caused this and how can I fix this? I already tried setting my wifi sleep policy to never, and it didn't work.
  2. stonyman72
    Offline

    stonyman72 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same exact issue and just started tonight and it has been about the same amount of time since I installed 2.2 any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Yeah, it is strange that at least 3 phones started experiencing this issue today. Surely someone else here has too? Maybe motorola set us up!
  4. stonyman72
    Offline

    stonyman72 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have looked around a bit and can't really find any answers so I am thinking this to be a new issue but the timing is strange

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  5. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Step 1: Turn of Hidden SSID.
    Step 2: ???
    Step 3: Profit!!!
  6. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Yes, not many people are on now though. Maybe tomorrow other people will start reporting in. For scientific purposes though these people would have to have had their wifi temporarily fixed with froyo as we have.
  7. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    :icon_eek:

    wat. HOW DO I DO THIS. And how did it turn itself on? The only thing I see mentioning SSID in my router settings is just the name of the router, no hidden option or anything of the like.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  8. stonyman72
    Offline

    stonyman72 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got nothing either nothing in my router settings have changed my wife sitting right next to me with her dinc and not having any issues

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  9. Sterl's
    Offline

    Sterl's New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. stonyman72
    Offline

    stonyman72 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But what I don't understand is that I have had 2.2 since the leak and it worked fine never had any issues with wifi until now and I haven't changed anything its just weird.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  11. Dr.Dad
    Offline

    Dr.Dad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me, too

    As I've mentioned before (bc I read/post on every forum like this to try and fix my issues) my wifi didn't work on 2.1, then it worked perfectly (w/o changing anything), but then I went to 2.2 and it stopped working, then worked for about a week....but
    I'm now in the same boat as you guys. About 2 days ago it stopped working. It usually says it is connected, but there isn't any data exchange, so I have been on 3g for the last few days. I thought it was me or my router, but it looks like something to do with 2.2.....
  12. bigdog9586
    Offline

    bigdog9586 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try pulling the battery and wait a min. and put it back in. Cured a simular problem I was having with a new router.
  13. stonyman72
    Offline

    stonyman72 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the idea still no joy it connects for like a second to my network then drops and connects again does this over and over


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  14. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Good news everyone! A motorola agent responded to me on the motorola forums and answered my question

  15. stonyman72
    Offline

    stonyman72 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I guess I can wait it out then I was planned on going back to 2.1 anyhow when the ota hit thanks for the update ggaabe


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  16. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    No problem. The thread is here in case you wanna check it out.
    https://supportforums.motorola.com/message/227894#227894I guess I should downgrade soon anyway then. The 2.2 update is supposedly coming out september 6th.
  17. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Good news everyone! I have figured out how to fix this wifi issue! First, open 3G mobile hotspot (the real one), set up your password, etc... Then turn on the hotspot, and find a device that can connect to wifi (laptop, iPod touch, a phone with working wifi) and connect to your droids hotspot. Then try visiting a website. This will then bring you to the verizon page. Now turn off the hotspot, turn on wifi and it is now working perfectly. This worked for my phone and my dads, so it should work for you too.

    I do have to give credit to my dad though, because he discovered it accidentally.