Handcent

Discussion in 'Android Audio and Video' started by Benfield, May 5, 2010.

  1. Benfield
    Offline

    Benfield New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I downloaded this app from the market and I like the fact that I can send out ringtones through text messages however now when get a text message I get it twice once from the orignal text message on Droid and once from the Handcent app. Is there anyway to stop the second one??

    Thanks in advance
  2. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Disable all notifications in your stock SMS settings.
  3. Benfield
    Offline

    Benfield New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Duh ok I wasn't thinking (thats easy)
    Thank you very much
    I am a newbie still learning. :wink:
  4. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    :] heh no problem.
  5. koalabear65
    Offline

    koalabear65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    New to droid x coming from a blackberry. How do you "disable" stock SMS settings and ringers? My original phone ringer still rings not the ones I choose? Thank you in advance.
  6. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open the stock messaging app... go into settings.... turn off auto retrieve... turn off notification. :)
  7. koalabear65
    Offline

    koalabear65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry again. Where is the stocking message app" located. This whole android thing is so new. I am learning, ever so slowly, but once I get the hang of it, hopefully I won't have to bother people anymore. Plus, I am one of those people a little "anxious" about downloading apps. Are they pretty safe through the market?? Thank you in advance. Please just walk me through it step by step. I know nothing about this phone format yet.
  8. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    stock messaging app is the one in the app drawer labeled "Messaging"

    Most apps are safe in the market, but there are some junk apps.

    Most apps with 4 or more stars are pretty solid.

    You should always read thru the comments on the app via the Market and you can read comments on them here on DF. :)
  9. koalabear65
    Offline

    koalabear65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OMG. How dumb do I feel right now??? So sorry to waste your time. I just was not highlighting it right. Thank you. Have I great day. WARNING!! I may be back. Off to try this again.
  10. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not wasting any time!

    We all started where you are now! No worries
  11. koalabear65
    Offline

    koalabear65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, a couple of my ringtones are choppy. I have ringdroid downloaded. Should I redo them through ringdroid. By the way, can I make them on the computer or do I have to do it through my phone because I tried it and it is choppy?? Oh yeah, how do I make those "ring" folders? I have tried but they do not show up on my phone??? The good news is, I am kinda getting the hang of this. (I think I am going to use SMS popup because there are more customization items). Do I assign ringtones just through my phone then??
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You do not have to use ringdroid to make ringtones. You can make ringtones on your PC.

    To add custom ringtones and notifications you must...

    On the root of your SD card, create two folders...

    1. 'ringtones' (all lower case)
    2. 'notifications' (all lower case)

    Files you place in the corresponding folder will be available when you select ringtones/notifications.
  13. koalabear65
    Offline

    koalabear65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Big question, what is the easiest way to make ringtones on the computer? I know these instructions are somewhere here, but while I have your attention -- THANK YOU!!
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. koalabear65
    Offline

    koalabear65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you use SMS popup and handcent together? I like the the display settings on handcent but with SMS popup you can set a different ringer for each contact when they call and when they text? (So 2 ringers per contact for me.)
  16. toddj
    Offline

    toddj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.
    Yup. just disable the handcent notification/popup
    I've been using them in conjunction for a while now.
    handcent > menu > settings > notification settings
    uncheck enable popup and notifications.
    should be all you need to do :)
  17. izzysmom
    Offline

    izzysmom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok this is an interesting concept to me...but I want to make sure I am getting the big picture...(Obviously, I would turn off all notification on the STOCK messaging app) Then I'd d/l hancent - and set as above...and ALSO d/l the SMS POPUP app....and set the preferred ringtones etc to specific contacts for when they text me....
    But when I "READ" the texts, I'd be looking at the HANDCENT app...(in other words, you're using the SMS Popup app strictly for the "noise" notification??)
  18. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see a reason to use SMS pop-up with Handcent installed.

    Handcent allows you to change the LED color, and use a "pop-up" over the lock screen already.
  19. lollipopkid
    Offline

    lollipopkid New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Martin seems like you know a lot about Moto Droid. Hope you can help. After 2.2 upgrade I can't seem to find my Droid ringtones. You know, the ones that came preloaded. Can you help? Thanks!!dancedroid
Similar Threads
  1. andro
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,206
  2. jpatey
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    515
  3. Beefsnack
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    664
  4. krnmc
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,203
  5. m@tt
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,157
Loading...
Search tags for this page
handcent safe to download
,
how safe is handcent
,
is handcent a safe app
,

is handcent safe

,
is handcent safe for droid mini
,
is handcent safe to use
,
is handcent sms a safe application
,

is handcent sms safe