Handcent

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by u7mg0, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have Handcent and like it. however, is there anyway to have the screen come on when a message is received? i hate having to unlock it every time i get a text. thanks so much
  2. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware

    Mine pops up right over the lock screen. It's called "quick pop-up" i think. Should be in the settings on handcent
  3. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware

    just checked handcent....that is where it is....just make sure it is checked and it should work
  4. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx for the reply

    i have Screen on for Popup and show on locked both checked

    does not come on. have powered down etc. hmmm
  5. laurieb
    Offline

    laurieb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I posted this in the other forum too.

    I am getting texts messages on both the handcent and the stock messaging one? Get 2 notifications also for each one?

    I put the stock message one in trash but still geting them in both?

    Anybody know what to do?

    Thanks,Laurieb
  6. JTAC
    Offline

    JTAC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    To get rid of notifications for both do this.

    Go into the stock messaging. Select Menu, select settings, scroll down and uncheck notifications. This will disable the stock messaging alerts.

    Does anyone know how to use a custom alert/ring tone for Handcent? I want to set one up for all messages...not just one specific person.
  7. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Hmm Im in handcent setting and dont seee any popup option.
  8. JTAC
    Offline

    JTAC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I see it. Go to the screen where it shows all your contacts "text threads", select menu, select settings, under "SMS Receive Settings" there is an option for pop-up. I unchecked mine, because I don't want others to read my texts.
  9. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    lol thnks its there now.. I swear it wasnt 10 mins ago lol
  10. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Go into settings, scroll down to notifications and check it (says display notification in status bar). You should be able to go into notification settings. Once inside notification settings you should be able to pick a standard alert/ringtone that you have on your phone.
  11. JTAC
    Offline

    JTAC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA

    It gives me access to ringtones ON the phone. I am trying to use one that I downloaded and is on my SD card. It'll let me select it as my phone's ringtone but not as an alert for Handcent.
  12. JTAC
    Offline

    JTAC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Never mind; I figured it out. There is an app on the market called "Ring Droid". This app lets you customize songs, downloaded ringtones, etc. and let you set them with the stock ringtones.
  13. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You could also mount your Droid onto the computer, create a folder called notifications and drop in all your songs/alerts in there. Ringdroid is definitely easier if you want to convert songs to ringtones/notifications right on your phone.
  14. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Getting back to my original post, the screen still does not come one when i get a txt or sMS... dont know what to do
Similar Threads
  1. andro
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,204
  2. jpatey
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    513
  3. Beefsnack
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    663
  4. krnmc
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,201
  5. m@tt
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,154
Loading...
Search tags for this page
handcent
,
handcent does not show preview message
,
handcent preview
,
handcent sms show preview of message
,

how to unblock someone on handcent

,
how to unlock handcent on droid
,
preview message on lock screen handcent
,
turn message preview off in handsent