handcent

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by pandaboy50, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. pandaboy50

    pandaboy50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a new member :D

    I receive a text and when I open it, it opens it with the droid's default messenger rather than handcent is there anyway I can get it so that it will open it with handcent?
     
  2. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the forum...one of these should solve your problem :)

    EDIT: Misunderstood the problem. BAD MATTY!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2010
  3. wkwaggoner

    wkwaggoner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hope NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    it will ask you to use messenger or handset....tap handset....check default....done
     
  4. pandaboy50

    pandaboy50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured out how to turn off the notifications but when I get a text and it pops up on my screen I open it to reply to it but it opens it in messages rather than handcent.
     
  5. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I retract my first post in this thread, that is pretty odd.
     
  6. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    As the poster above you said: Have you set Handcent as your default messaging app?

    Go to your Contacts -> Long press one -> Text Contact -> Click the check mark and select Handcent as the handler for messaging.

    Try that out and see if it works for replies also.

    Let us know :)
     
  7. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    If I am not mistaken, the popup feature IS handcent. Assuming you have assigned it as your default, this is a quick reply popup screen. If you don't like it, go into settings and uncheck popup. You should only get notifications in the notification bar then.
     
  8. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    The popup is Handcent, that being said, I remember having a problem with the popup myself before I disabled it. It would go to default messaging, then I played with it for a while, it worked correctly then I disabled it. This was some time ago, so the actual set up might have changed since then.
     
  9. pandaboy50

    pandaboy50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am hoping this fixes the problem I have been having. I haven't gotten a text in a while. go figure. I move from a iphone to a sleek droid and everyone is busy heh so is life
     
  10. firehousejames

    firehousejames New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been back and forth on Handcent. Installing and deleting numerous times. The "Batch Feature" is great and you can customize your messaging to do many cool things with skins, led light changes, signatures, etc. I have had a problem with receiving a text message from one person and handcent thinking it was someone else. The other day i replied to one person thinking it was another and told them to be at a meeting an hour earlier. I'm sure it's some user error, but I just became frustrated because text messages have gotten confused before on Handcent, so I finally deleted. Great program, it just doesn't work for me.
     
Similar Threads
  1. andro
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,339
  2. jpatey
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    663
  3. Beefsnack
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    840
  4. krnmc
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,372
Loading...
Search tags for this page
can you transfer text messages to another phone with handcen
,

handcent export settings to new phone

,
how to handcent sms new phone
,
how to transfer handcent settings from one phone to another
,

move handcent messages to new phone

,
move handcent settings
,

moving my handcent messages to new phone

,
transfer handcent setting
,

transfer handcent settings from one phone to another

,
will old messages move to handcent