Handcent with Darkedge

Discussion in 'Xeudoxus' started by Darksthour, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    So every time I wanna change the settings on Handcent I get a force close. And every time I wanna input and text the color is white on white so I can't see what I wrote. Anyone getting this problem and/or know a fix?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  3. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I thought I did. I used Metamorph to install the theme. Or did I miss something.
  4. raidzero
    Offline

    raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I'd run it again just to be sure, manually select the Handcent one
  5. Koveleski
    Offline

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Download Handcent from market. Download DarkEdge-Tools from market. Use DarkEdge tools for app transfer. Download DarkeEdge-Apps zip of your color choice. Extract on PC. Move folder to /sdcard/AndroidThemes/. Go onto phone. Use metamorph, select control file and then select Handcent. Click apply. Re-select Handcent and apply again for good measure. Check Handcent for theming change.

    Profit.
  6. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ok well I uninstalled then reinstalled. Used the Darkedge tools then applied the theme with Metamorph and now when I try to open Handcent it force closes.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. Koveleski
    Offline

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Did you apply twice while in metamorph and then reboot your phone?
  8. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ok I got Handcent to work. But now setcpu is force closing every time I try to open it. I don't have the option to uninstall and reinstall so I just tried to reapply the theme twice and restart. Still isn't working though.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. jellybean420
    Offline

    jellybean420 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Make sure when you theme these apps that they are up to date. Another thing is make sure the version number in the maket matches the version number in the DE apps. Also make sure you reboot after applying. Keepin that in mind you should have no problems.
  10. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ok, so I checked my version and it's 2.0. 3 so it matches what the Darkedge version theme is. However I found out if I go to manage applications and clear cache I can open it again with a force close. I just can't enable profiles. I'm using the stock kernel with BBv. 05 so I'm thinking that's the reason it's not working. Just wondering if anyone else came across that problem.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. CruiseFL510
    Offline

    CruiseFL510 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was on bbv.5 with stock kernel for a couple of weeks and didn't have any force close problems with Handcent. I didn't have SetCPU at the time.

    Just switched over to Sapphire 1.1.4 with lv1.0 kernel and loving it!!
  12. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I probably should make a new thread. I have Handcent working. My problem now is setcpu. It force closes when I try to set profiles. I also can not uninstall after I moved it using Darkedge tools.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. ClumsyNinja21
    Offline

    ClumsyNinja21 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    O
    Uninstall setcpu. Reboot phone. Redownload setcpu. Trust me. I have to do that with setcpu anytime I change a theme.
    To uninstall you will have to delete the .apk from root explorer.


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I want to but when I used Darkedge tools it won't let me uninstall and reonstall.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  15. ClumsyNinja21
    Offline

    ClumsyNinja21 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can u find the setcpu apk in root explorer?



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  17. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Hah didn't notice that my response was still in the quote with this app.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  18. ClumsyNinja21
    Offline

    ClumsyNinja21 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Open root explorer-go to data/apps-long press on m Huang. Apk then delete.
    Reboot-redownload setcpu
  19. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Sorry don't feel like buying an application for $4 for a problem that probably can be fixed another way.

    The sweetest phone running
    The beast v.05
    Darkedge theme

    Sent using DroidForums.net App
  20. Phaze08
    Offline

    Phaze08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So that's how you fix it! Does this work with Facebook also?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk