1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

handcent update

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Twista89, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Twista89
    Offline

    Twista89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The handcent app just came out with a new update yesterday that let's u be able to change the led color to anytype of color you want. I tried making a new color but when I set it in my droid it doesn't want to show the color...I also noticed that if I choose colors like cyan that it won't work either. So my question is does the droid have the capability to change the led notification light to any color I want???
  2. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use cyan fine..and played with the custom colors and it worked fine.. keep in mind the LED wont lit up if the screen is on
  3. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    yep i know missed call will let you change to any color you want - some dont work though (white for example) but you can change them
  4. myDownfall
    Offline

    myDownfall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I've been using all the colors just fine. Setup different colors for particular individuals so I can prioritize when they will get a response. :)
  5. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since the update i get double notifications, about 90% of the time. if i go change settings and change them back the next text will be normal, then back to double notification
  6. Twista89
    Offline

    Twista89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm well for some reason I went back and tried it again and now the other colors do work but the custom color thing still doesn't work
  7. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really wish you could set the background of the app as the Droid's Wallpaper. For instance, Dialer One (a phone app) allows you to display even live wallpapers in the background. It really makes it look like a fully integrated app.
  8. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    yea that would be nice. maybe someday in the future...
  9. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nevermind i figured my problem out, if you use missed call for SMS do not set notifications in handcent.
  10. jawa6969
    Offline

    jawa6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Already possible. Go into app and hit your menu button and then custom style. You can choose custom BG's for the conversation list and threads.
  11. jbsangel
    Offline

    jbsangel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does handcent still make every fb contact show up when you are entering who you want to send a txt to? that annoyed the carp out of me before...
  12. astevens54
    Offline

    astevens54 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Where are the settings for changing the LED colors? It's been a while since I set mine. Thanks in advance.
  13. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    theres a setting to turn that off, has been for a while
  14. jawa6969
    Offline

    jawa6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I may be wrong on this but I think that is controlled via the FB app.
  15. efffin mat
    Offline

    efffin mat New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    notification settings, you can set them all from the conversation list or individually in the notification options for each person.
  16. goose719
    Offline

    goose719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Handcent

    Have a question. Just rebooted my droid eris. I lost the handcent app for messaging. I tried to download it again on the app market but could only find the font packages and handcent keyboard. Is it no longer wondering or is it under a different name? thanks
  17. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Don't know if this is because of the update or not but lately, when I send a sms the little circle to the left keeps spinning!? I thought they were not going thru at first so i deleted the message and re-sent like 4 times. The person told me they got the same text from me 4 times. After the first time this happened i uninstalled and reinsalled handcent and it worked, but now it's doing again and I don't want to uninstall and reinstall every time.

    It does not do this with mms wondering how to stop this and if it is wasting battery.

    Thanks
  18. astevens54
    Offline

    astevens54 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks, I don't see it for individual notification, I must be missing something? other than my brain, lol. Thanks
  19. hemorrdroid
    Offline

    hemorrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Was having the same issues this morning, uninstalled, and reinstalled, rebooted, and seems to be better, hopefully.
  20. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    ok, figured it out looks like startup manager was causing the issue, I had removed handcent from statup manager and whe i put it back and rebooted any new texts sent the circle stops and disappears.:icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
hand cent update
,
handcent for droid problems with new update
,

handcent update

,
handcent updates
,
handcentsms updates
,
how to update handcent app
,
new handcent app update didnt like