Handcent update screwed up my contacts

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by tu3218, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I just updated my handcent and it deleted all my contacts?? I synced them back up and when I send a text and go into handcent it just shows the number and not their name. Any help?
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problems with handcent here, ever.

    Did you goto the developers site?
  3. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I've never seen this particular issue with Handcent, but I've seen plenty others. Handcent was so full of bugs I eventually got rid of it. The only messaging app I have ever used with ZERO bugs was ChompSMS. Just keep Chomp in mind if you continue to have issues with Handcent.
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I switched to Handcent about a month ago and have not had any problems. All of my contacts made the switch without issue.

    Mike
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And I've had handcent since day one and never a problem...
  6. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    yeah I'm not sure why this happened. This was the first problem I have ever had with handcent, its been an amazing alternative to the standard text messaging. Its starting to show the names now so hopefully its good now. Course it still hasn't synced all my facebook contacts but I think it takes awhile because it did that when I first got my droid.
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    You guys are lucky...bugs that I have seen personally or seen other people complain about with Handcent:

    - Duplicate messages (not notifications)...I had this issue, and yes the auto retrieve and stuff was unchecked in the stock app
    - LED light stays on instead of blinking

    And various other things. The thing that made me leave was getting dupes.
  8. big.daddy
    Offline

    big.daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can set the led light flash consistency. mine used to stay on till i set it to flash fast. Hope this helps. I never had any of the other issues.
  9. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    last update didn't give me the prob as the OP. ...the bugs i do and been having is every 20th or 30thish text i get it'll be a duplicate. About every 150 i'll get a tripple text. Every 600 i'll get a quadruple. And yes, believe it or not i've had a quintuple text before. I just recieve them now. It use to be that the person i send them to will get duplicates when i know i only sent once. Hasn't happened in a while. Oh.., one more bug. All message threads get erased. i went about a month in a half without it happening and it finally happened a few days ago. I talked to a fellow droidinian here and he says it prob cause you had to much threads. I text about 5000/month.
  10. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    I've got a few duplicates not often though, although I didn't update because I just customized the .apk to my liking and didn't want to redo it, maybe tomorrow.
  11. bigjonmoo73
    Offline

    bigjonmoo73 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Anyone having problems with the pictures not loading up, via facebook, next to the names on the Handcent text?
  12. Brokn68
    Offline

    Brokn68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dupe messages and then it started to freeze when opening made me get rid of it. I have had great luck with SMS Popup from the market.
  13. Rollingbones
    Offline

    Rollingbones New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fair Oaks, CA
    I have all my contacts listed in my gmail, whether or not I really do have an email addy for them, they're there. This way, Nada gets deleted and I have my contacts available thru muti sources...

    No other problems noted.
  14. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i heard some rumors of handcent including ads within the application in the most recent update. i have yet to download the update, but anyone hear or experience the same?
  15. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I haven't had any issues with the last update and the only ad I see is in the settings menu which is no big deal.
  16. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    the adds are in the settings menu and you hardly notice them, CHOMPsms however has their adds IN THE THREADED MESSAGES and if you want them gone you have to donate WTF is that BULL$hit

    -=Jason=-
Search tags for this page

handcent lost my contacts

,

how come my handcent lost my contacts