Handcent/Standard

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kpoker, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. kpoker

    kpoker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have both running now. I only want one running and handcent doesnt seem too different, how do I shut one off. Running both is taking too much battery.
     
  2. jaycemiskel

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    You can uninstall handcent if you would like but other than that they're pretty much both going to be running. You can turn off the notifications from the stock app if you want to continue using handcent though. Your choice, but I prefer handcent.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, Handcent uses functions from the stock app. If you uninstall stock, you break Handcent. If you don't like getting double notifications, turn them off in the stock app.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have the stock app as well as Handcent. Handcent is my primary app so I disabled the notifications and the stock app just sits in the background. I do the same thing with the Gmail app (disable notifications and sit in background)

    Mike
     
  5. kpoker

    kpoker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guess I will uninstall handcent for now. Just hate the new colors now with the stock.
     
  6. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need to. Handcent is way too popular to cause battery problems.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Similar Threads
  1. tsglass
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    612
  2. krnmc
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,267
  3. m@tt
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. jasondeg
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    779
  5. Stormy Knight
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    852
Loading...
Search tags for this page
handcent running in background notification
,

how to disable handcent without deleting