Handcent/Standard

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kpoker, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. kpoker
    Offline

    kpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have both running now. I only want one running and handcent doesnt seem too different, how do I shut one off. Running both is taking too much battery.
  2. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can uninstall handcent if you would like but other than that they're pretty much both going to be running. You can turn off the notifications from the stock app if you want to continue using handcent though. Your choice, but I prefer handcent.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, Handcent uses functions from the stock app. If you uninstall stock, you break Handcent. If you don't like getting double notifications, turn them off in the stock app.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I have the stock app as well as Handcent. Handcent is my primary app so I disabled the notifications and the stock app just sits in the background. I do the same thing with the Gmail app (disable notifications and sit in background)

    Mike
  5. kpoker
    Offline

    kpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guess I will uninstall handcent for now. Just hate the new colors now with the stock.
  6. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need to. Handcent is way too popular to cause battery problems.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
Similar Threads
  1. tsglass
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    570
  2. krnmc
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,208
  3. m@tt
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,171
  4. jasondeg
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    743
  5. Stormy Knight
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    795
Loading...
Search tags for this page
handcent running in background notification
,

how to disable handcent without deleting