1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

handcent not working with ss4.7

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by MaCe, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i backed up my apps and did a factory wipe ... for some reason handcent isnt showing up and when i try to install it from the market it just gives me an "installation error" ... any ideas ???
  2. syst3merror
    Offline

    syst3merror New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    didn't chevy recommend not wiping?
  3. Mooseinacanoe
    Offline

    Mooseinacanoe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went from 4.6 to 4.7 today wiped from habit and handcent wasnt there after rstapps but did reload from market and works fine.
  4. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sounds like you should restore and make sure you run bkapps again and restore them before setting up your device
  5. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya was hopin i wasnt going to have to restore ...but i'll give it a try see what happens
  6. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    let us know how that fairs mate. i know doing a restore sucks but it has saved my butt a few times!
  7. Fault
    Offline

    Fault New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If that doesnt work, go under Settings->Applications->Manage Applications->All. Scroll through to the Hs and look if there is anything with the word Handcent in it. Click, then click uninstall. Then check if there is anything with the word handcent in it under Cs, look under com.; aswell as Os, under org.

    Then just reinstall. Sometimes bkapps does not backup everything, bit irritating
  8. y0rk
    Offline

    y0rk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Look in /sdcard/simplystunning/apps and see if its there. The one without a date should be the most recent backup. If its there u can use that copy to try a reinstall

    Sent from my Droid
  9. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i actually just reinstalled the rom ...no wipe just install .. and then it allowed handcent to install from the market .. weird ??? sorry fellas i never got to try your advice so i cant give any feed back thanks for everything tho
  10. razorseal
    Offline

    razorseal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it works for me but the text message LED notifications stay on permanently... they don't go off... weird =/
  11. kpoker
    Offline

    kpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you install handcent will your current messages (not in handcent) move over to handcent? Also will sms backup work with handcent?
  12. jville95
    Offline

    jville95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In my house in the middle of my street.
    Yes, they should. SMS backup should work as well.
  13. y0rk
    Offline

    y0rk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yeah Handcent pulls from the same pool of messages, so as long as you don't delete them in the stock Mms app they will be there in Handcent
  14. kpoker
    Offline

    kpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Handcent is Handcent SMS by handcent_admin?
Search tags for this page

ss4.7