1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Handcent not showing Contact Names

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Droidphoner, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. Droidphoner
    Offline

    Droidphoner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, sorry if this has been posted, but I've looked all over the internets and found no answers, only a handful of people with the same problem.
    Whenever I try and use Handcent, I recieve a text from someone in my contacts, but instead of saying their name, it simply shows the number. I haven't synced my contacts list with Facebook or anything, so I doubt that's got anything to do with it.
    Anyone know why this is or how to fix it? I'm currently stuck using the default messenger, and its terribly boring in comparison.
    Thanks in advance
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling Handcent? I know this seems like a pain but it may work. Your Handcent should display the names.... mine always has.
  3. mrnelson86
    Offline

    mrnelson86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    It may sound silly, but are the numbers in your contacts under "mobile" or "home"? I had this issue when I facebook sync'd that they were under "home" which makes text messaging services only show the phone number because they don't think you should be texting a land line...
  4. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Also do they disappear for a while in Handcent and then come back or do they ALWAYS not show up when receiving a text message?
  5. FlipBack
    Offline

    FlipBack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I have the same problem. Works in stock messenger, but not in handcent.
  6. Droidphoner
    Offline

    Droidphoner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow... I guess I wasted yall's time actually haha. Turns out, I had a couple numbers saved twice, one with the name, and one without. So whenever I received a text from that person, it would just use the one without the name. Sorry guys, I feel kinda dumb. But Flipback, try making sure you're Contacts is crisp and correct, because that appears to be the common problem. Either make sure you don't have a "mobile" number saved as "home" or that you aren't trying to text a number that you have saved twice.
    Again, sorry for being dumb and thanks for the help guys.
  7. xlapus
    Offline

    xlapus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not having quite the same problem, but I Handcent only seems to be showing a handful of my contacts.

    I've tried looking for a Sync Contacts option in the Handcent app itself, but I have't found it.

    I think it's only showing contacts I've manually entered, and nothing from Facebook, which is why I was looking for the Sync w/ FB option.
  8. ManBearSquid
    Offline

    ManBearSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a similar problem. Some of my contacts get the name/pic treatment and others don't.

    My contacts list is clean, one entry per number, mobile devices set as Mobile, not Home or anything else. Most of my contacts were entered only as a name, which then synced with Facebook, then had a phone number added if it wasn't provided by FB.

    I'd love to use Handcent, but this problem is a dealbreaker. I've gotta know who I'm talking to without memorizing everyone's phone number.
  9. maddogz
    Offline

    maddogz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same Problem, Easy Solution

    So, I cleared the cache of my contact storage and lost all my contact names in handcent, instead just numbers were showing...

    Now, all my contacs are synced via google... so, i went to accounts and sync in the main menu settings, went to my google account, unchecked sync contacts, synced, then re-checked sync and re-synced...

    Voila! It worked, all my names reappeared in handcent! So, maybe give that a shot...? Hope this helps for someone...
Search tags for this page

handcent contacts

,
handcent contacts not showing up
,
handcent display contact number not names
,
handcent display name
,
handcent no contacts
,
handcent not finding contacts
,

handcent not recognizing contacts

,

handcent not showing contact names

,
handcent not showing contacts
,
handcent not showing names
,
handcent sms contacts problem
,
handcent sms not showing contact names
,
handcent sms not showing names
,
handcent wont show contact names
,
why does handcent display phone number not contact name