handcent not sending messages

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by calibretto02, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. calibretto02
    Offline

    calibretto02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i have a droid 2, i installed the handcent app, at first it worked fine but it was makin my phone really laggy. so i uninstalled it and reinstalled. the lag was gone but not i couldnt send out any texts. so i uninstalled again and tryed sending a text thro the stock texting app and it worked just fine. so i tryed reinstalling once again and still wont send anything. so any help would be greatly appreciated cause i really wanna be able to use handcent.
     
  2. Wuzz Ranger
    Offline

    Wuzz Ranger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried doing a quick google search on your issue. It seems that there are a few people having the same issue. If worse comes to worse, try sending the developer a quick message to see if he can offer any insight. Good Luck to you
     
  3. calibretto02
    Offline

    calibretto02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i think i figured out the problem. my phone was sync'ed with facebook so all my numbers had +1 attached to them. so it looked like +1-555-555-5555.so after unsynching and deleting out any +1's. it started sending
     
  4. Wuzz Ranger
    Offline

    Wuzz Ranger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    that is really weird, I wouldn't think that a 1 would make the difference.

    Glad it's working for you again!
     
  5. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The country code shouldn't matter but if it works for you then go with it.
     
  6. justice71923
    Offline

    justice71923 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea haveing the same prob. And it is the country code that is messing it up

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    I think its the "+" that's throwing the messaging off. Has this been an issue all along? It seems like just the past couple of months that these threads have been popping up.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  8. justice71923
    Offline

    justice71923 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anyway to get it off of there yet......
     
  9. nhessenberger
    Offline

    nhessenberger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    need help

    Hey so you figured it out cause i tried to text through handcent without the +1 and it worked but i can not figure out how to unsync my contacts from facebook or delete the +1 because the number in my contacts is locked if you could help me by explaining how to unsync from facebook i would really appreciate it thanks
     
  10. maureend
    Offline

    maureend New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is exactly right. I have had the same annoying issue with certain texts not sending. I do have Handcent installed, though sometimes I just use the regular text app.

    It's the Facebook contacts where I have the problem because Facebook puts the 1 in front of the number. I had to go into my contacts for those people and unlink them from Facebook. Problem solved.

    Thanks so much for pointing me in this direction. I was pulling my hair out!
     
  11. Rawk3rSix
    Offline

    Rawk3rSix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having this issue, except my contacts don't have the "+1" in front. It's becoming more frequent now, but when I try to send a text message, a lot of the times it will just hang and never send. I'll never know until I check it. I'll go into the thread, and the pinwheel will still be spinning--even hours later. It is the most frustrating thing. I don't want to go back to GOsms because I got fed up with all the spam they were sending. I like Handcent, but I might just go back to stock, because this text not sending issue is driving me crazy.. and I've tried all the other sms apps. They just aren't for me =P
    Someone please help before I take myself out the game haha
     
Search tags for this page

handcent message not sent

,
handcent messages not sending
,
handcent not sending
,

handcent not sending messages

,
handcent not sending text
,
handcent not sending texts
,
handcent sms not sending messages
,
handcent wont send messages
,
my handcent messages wont send
,
why does handcent not send messages