Handcent Issues

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by dxuser, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Handcent appears to be working fine and does what I think it's supposed to do. However, it appears to be using itself and regular text messages. When I check my verizon texts, the number keeps going up. I KNOW I haven't been using ANYTHING but Handcent. Weird. Is this happening to anyone else?
  2. HFND
    Offline

    HFND New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Handcent App is sending SMS messages twice and I have the stock messaging off???
  3. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sending twice from Handcent?
  4. HFND
    Offline

    HFND New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, when I text photos to people the all say they get it twice?


    Sent from HFND's Droid "X" using Tapatalk
  5. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried uninstalling the app and reinstalling it?
  6. avt123
    Offline

    avt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This happens to me all the time. I don't think it has anything to do with Handcent. I think it has to do with VZW. Everyday I get multiple duplicate texts and MMS from other VZW users. It happens with Handcent and when I don't have it installed (tested it to see if it was Handcent). This happened on my Droid as well. My contacts that are on VZW say they receive double from me as well.
  7. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I sit here and watch my Verizon text messase numbers go up and wonder WTF???? What is going on?
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never have seen this problem with handcent....I would reinstall...factory reset if that does not work.
  9. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the reinstall. I'm not going to do the reset. Too much time invested. Thanks for the suggestions. Let me know if you think of anything else...
  10. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Handcent doesn't keep you from using text messages from your plan. It isn't like a free messaging service. It is just a replacement for the normal messaging app. If that is your issue, the simple answer is that you will still see Verizon reporting that you are using texts.

    If the issues is that the Verizon app is showing the messages, you need to go into the settings under the Verizon messaging app and unclick "autoretrieve" and "notifications"
  11. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK. I can admit it. I'm an idiot. I was under the impression it was a free service. Not just a replacement. HA! Thanks for clearing that up. I will go back under my rock now...

    P.S. Please tell me Google Voice is what I thought Handcent was...
  12. Warner
    Offline

    Warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area, IL
    Between Swype and simply hitting the microphone button and speaking my text messages, I can't think of a need for another texting option. Am I missing something here? I'm coming from an old Samsung phone (current version is the Alias), so I'm easily impressed.....but the options available natively on the Droid X seem great to me...


    Warner
  13. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like the DX native texting program as well. My need stems from only having the 250 texts and being used to BB messenger. Which i miss dearly. I guess I will ultimately have to get unlimited texts.
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Come join the fun at Google Talk. I've forgotten all about BBM. And have your BBM friends join you over there too.
  15. dxuser
    Offline

    dxuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is that the same as the google voice?
Search tags for this page
handcent sent text shows twice
,
my handsent keeps sending me messsages twice
,
on handcent i receive texts twice
,

where does handcent store text messages

,
why do my messages show up twice in handsend
,
zipwhip handcent issues