Handcent... Insufficient storage?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Naebue, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I was on the UDv10 and used apps2SD so I did the partitioning and such. I upgraded (yes, I'm calling it that) to Redrum 1.1 (freaking rocks). Now I'm having this problem, and I'm not sure (but I think it is) if it's related to the partition. When I try to install Handcent now, I get an error that says, "Installation Error - Insufficient storage available." Anyone else having this problem? If so, how did you fix it?

    Thanks!
    ~Eddie
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Moved to Rescue Squad for further assistance.
     
  3. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,143
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +214
    I'm not to familiar with the app2sd stuff, but it sounds like that may be the issue. Is there a way to remove the partition or disable apps2sd?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  6. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this issue a couple updates ago. I don't use apps2sd, so I don't think its really an apps2sd problem.

    I had to uninstall and then reinstall the app. I had plenty of free space on my phone so I don't know what the real problem was.
     
  7. ldimick
    Offline

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When that happens there is usually some remnant file from handcent left behind. You did the correct thing to fix it.
     
  8. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the links Mike. After messing around I found that there was a handcent app still around, which is why it was trying to upgrade it instead of install it. took a little looking around, but I found it, deleted and rebooted just to make sure it was gone. I even went through and deleted the backup I had in titanium backups. Now to remove the partition because it's not doing anything for me at this point.
     
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Wonderful! Glad you were able to remove the old version and get up and running.
    Mike
     
  10. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I'm trying to get rid of the partition on the SD card, and it's not working... I'm still only showing 14.6gb of space on the 16gb card. Any suggestions?
     
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,143
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +214
    That could be right. Mine shows 14.83gb total space on mine.
     
  12. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm... did you ever do the partitions for apps2SD or swap?
     
  13. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  14. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks again Mike!
     
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I saw you on the IRC were they able to get this corrected?

    Mike
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr m insufficient storage
,
handcent insufficient
,
handcent insufficient space
,
handcent insufficient storage
,

handcent insufficient storage available

,
handcent sms insufficient storage available
,
handcent space
,
monster 7 insufficient storage error
,

samsung admire insufficient storage

,
when ever o try to update my handcent sms it says insufficient storage