Handcent... Insufficient storage?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Naebue, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    So I was on the UDv10 and used apps2SD so I did the partitioning and such. I upgraded (yes, I'm calling it that) to Redrum 1.1 (freaking rocks). Now I'm having this problem, and I'm not sure (but I think it is) if it's related to the partition. When I try to install Handcent now, I get an error that says, "Installation Error - Insufficient storage available." Anyone else having this problem? If so, how did you fix it?

    Thanks!
    ~Eddie
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Moved to Rescue Squad for further assistance.
  3. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I'm not to familiar with the app2sd stuff, but it sounds like that may be the issue. Is there a way to remove the partition or disable apps2sd?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  6. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this issue a couple updates ago. I don't use apps2sd, so I don't think its really an apps2sd problem.

    I had to uninstall and then reinstall the app. I had plenty of free space on my phone so I don't know what the real problem was.
  7. ldimick
    Offline

    ldimick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When that happens there is usually some remnant file from handcent left behind. You did the correct thing to fix it.
  8. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for the links Mike. After messing around I found that there was a handcent app still around, which is why it was trying to upgrade it instead of install it. took a little looking around, but I found it, deleted and rebooted just to make sure it was gone. I even went through and deleted the backup I had in titanium backups. Now to remove the partition because it's not doing anything for me at this point.
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Wonderful! Glad you were able to remove the old version and get up and running.
    Mike
  10. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Now I'm trying to get rid of the partition on the SD card, and it's not working... I'm still only showing 14.6gb of space on the 16gb card. Any suggestions?
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    That could be right. Mine shows 14.83gb total space on mine.
  12. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    hmm... did you ever do the partitions for apps2SD or swap?
  13. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  14. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks again Mike!
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I saw you on the IRC were they able to get this corrected?

    Mike
  16. Naebue
    Offline

    Naebue New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Yea Mike, they helped and we got it fixed!
  17. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Great! Koush has asked that members use the IRC for help. Got to admire a man of his word!

    Mike
Search tags for this page
droid razr m insufficient storage
,
handcent insufficient
,
handcent insufficient space
,

handcent insufficient storage

,

handcent insufficient storage available

,

handcent sms insufficient storage available

,
monster 7 insufficient storage error
,

samsung admire insufficient storage

,
when ever o try to update my handcent sms it says insufficient storage