Handbrake settings for Droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by docbest74, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. windstrings

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never tried "mac the ripper" as suggested "looks like is for a Mac", but I do know "magic dvd ripper" works good. PM me if you like it and want to use it.
     
  2. transfigure

    transfigure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I struggled a bit with the Handbrake settings, and this is what I found for version 0.9.4, which is the latest version as of the time of this post.

    In the Presets window, select iPod Legacy. Then, at the top of the window, click on Picture Settings. Increase the width to 720. This is the native width of DVD video. The height will read 400. That's fine. Leave it set at Anamorphic: None. If you turn on Anamorphic, you'll end up with video that looks distorted on the Droid. Don't touch any other settings - just name the video and click start. It will automatically fill the screen of the Droid and the quality is good.

    Enjoy!
     
  3. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not to resurrect a dead thread, but about how long did it take using the methods above? I went Iphone + Ipod touch preset, then changed resolution to 720x480 and that's prett much it. For a 2 hour movie, it's telling me it's gonna take about 3.5 hours to encode. I've used handbrake a ton for my ipod touch, but mostly for tv shows, and it's been about 1to1 ratio for encoding, e.g. a 60 minute episode takes a little less than 60 minutes to encode, so this seems excessive.
     
  4. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would depend on how fast your computer's processor is.
     
  5. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The bigger screen size is what makes it take longer. You are dealing with a bit more than double the amount of pixels compared to the 480x320 iPhone resolution.
     
  6. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks for the quick replies. I was just about to post that I know the change in resolution and the fact that I'm doing it on a laptop would make it slower, but I was just wondering if it would be that slow. I guess I gotta find a good medium where it won't take all night to burn a DVD. Then again, if it looks as good as some of those trailers that you posted, it'll be worth it.
     
  7. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but the trailers are not done with Handbrake :)

    Those are done with a different program (my own)
    I wont go into too much details, but on my core2duo laptop, converting the trailers (720p Quicktime source) it runs at about 1.3x real-time, so 1 hour of video would take about 45 minutes. The trailers are done at 854x480 (full Droid res) at 1500kbps/160kbps. If you go a bit lower (those are the max settings the Droid can handle) it will be faster.
     
  8. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, since I had used Handbrake in the past and it's free I was gonna give it a few tries tonight. If I got tired of dealing it, I figured the price for DVDCatalyst isn't too shabby and I'd just get that, haha.
     
  9. JamesX

    JamesX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Iphone standard setting takes i7 950 with 6 gigs of DDR3-2000 Ram 10-15 minutes to encode.
     
  10. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    what are the specs of your system?
     
  11. FireDroid

    FireDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get catalyst, it is worth it!
     
  12. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The RAM doesn't have much to do with how fast it take's the computer to encode a video. It's more about the processor.
     
Search tags for this page
best handbrake settings for droid
,
handbrake and android 2.2
,

handbrake droid

,
handbrake for droid
,
handbrake settings driod razr
,
handbrake settings for android
,

handbrake settings for droid

,
handbrake settings for droid x
,
handbrake settings for htc dna
,
what settings in handbrake for droid 4