Handbrake settings for Droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by docbest74, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would depend on how fast your computer's processor is.
     
  2. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The bigger screen size is what makes it take longer. You are dealing with a bit more than double the amount of pixels compared to the 480x320 iPhone resolution.
     
  3. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks for the quick replies. I was just about to post that I know the change in resolution and the fact that I'm doing it on a laptop would make it slower, but I was just wondering if it would be that slow. I guess I gotta find a good medium where it won't take all night to burn a DVD. Then again, if it looks as good as some of those trailers that you posted, it'll be worth it.
     
  4. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but the trailers are not done with Handbrake :)

    Those are done with a different program (my own)
    I wont go into too much details, but on my core2duo laptop, converting the trailers (720p Quicktime source) it runs at about 1.3x real-time, so 1 hour of video would take about 45 minutes. The trailers are done at 854x480 (full Droid res) at 1500kbps/160kbps. If you go a bit lower (those are the max settings the Droid can handle) it will be faster.
     
  5. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, since I had used Handbrake in the past and it's free I was gonna give it a few tries tonight. If I got tired of dealing it, I figured the price for DVDCatalyst isn't too shabby and I'd just get that, haha.
     
  6. JamesX

    JamesX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Iphone standard setting takes i7 950 with 6 gigs of DDR3-2000 Ram 10-15 minutes to encode.
     
  7. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    what are the specs of your system?
     
  8. FireDroid

    FireDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get catalyst, it is worth it!
     
  9. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The RAM doesn't have much to do with how fast it take's the computer to encode a video. It's more about the processor.
     
  10. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My system tab tells me I have an Intel Core2 CPU T7200 @ 2.0ghz with 2gigs of RAM, but I don't know the RAM speed. It's a Thinkpad I got a few years ago.
     
  11. dvdcatalyst

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Pretty close to mine. I'm running a Dell e1705 with a T7400 CPU (2.16Ghz, upgraded from a 1.83Ghz Core1Duo) and 2GB of memory, running win7 64bit. It's due for a wipe though.

    For comparison, the same trailer using the iPhone profile (not Handbrake :)) converts at 2.4x realtime.
     
Search tags for this page
best handbrake settings for droid
,
handbrake and android 2.2
,

handbrake droid

,
handbrake for droid
,
handbrake settings driod razr
,
handbrake settings for android
,

handbrake settings for droid

,
handbrake settings for droid x
,
handbrake settings for htc dna
,
what settings in handbrake for droid 4