Haha = Bahamas?!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Viktor Vaughn, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. Viktor Vaughn
    Offline

    Viktor Vaughn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Cuz = customer, and other ways that the droid reads my sms messages drive me crazy.

    It's hard enough to win a sports argument via text, but when I am trying to rub something in via a well placed "haha" , the joke is on me when it reads "Bahamas"

    Does this happen to anyone else?

    haha
  2. Del Vecchio
    Offline

    Del Vecchio New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Yeah it happens to me as well. There are 2 ways that I can think of to remedy this.
    1) Turn off Auto-Correct
    2) Try spelling it ha ha. The auto correct will not change it to Bahamas if there is a space in there. This is what I usually wind up doing.

    Hope this helps
  3. edenofgarden
    Offline

    edenofgarden New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, same here. I fixed it by holding down on "haha" or "cuz" in the word suggestion bar until it said "haha: saved" - now it lets me type my slang the way I want to. Hope that makes sense!
  4. Echo3
    Offline

    Echo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    I get that or I get Hagar. My friend thought Hagar was hilarious when I was trying to say "haha"
  5. edenofgarden
    Offline

    edenofgarden New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try holding down on the word you want in the auto-correct bar, and it will say "haha: saved"
    I use that feature because it reminds me of "Autotext" on my Blackberry, a feature I used ALL the time, and was bummed to lose out on, until I found the "hold & save" method. Not sure of the correct term for it, just found it while experimenting one day!
  6. pmc2025
    Offline

    pmc2025 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I've been systematically teaching my Droid how to curse, laugh, and generally speak "man"
  7. bone23
    Offline

    bone23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    or u can just go into settings-language/keyboard-user dictionary. And add any word u want in there and it will remember it when typing in the future. i did that when i first got my droid and have all my slang or whatever ready to go
  8. Viktor Vaughn
    Offline

    Viktor Vaughn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Wow. Blown away by these responses. I was just posting it because I thought it was funny/annoying, I certainly didn't expect 4, sound solutions to be rattled off.

    This forum is great, thanks.
  9. Kadarin
    Offline

    Kadarin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get "Jahan" when I try it... weird.
  10. Xerozix
    Offline

    Xerozix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    hehe well now im using swype so I have no problem with spelling haha like hagar or bahamas its like google has no sense of humor lol
  11. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Oddly, "Droid" came out "Croissant"

    As in "I am sending this from my Croissant"
  12. kenjunior
    Offline

    kenjunior New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does anyone else have 'ok' changed to 'ol'.

    This is driving me CRAZY! I know I can turn off the autocorrect and I know I can simply touch the screen 'ok' but really, WHY?????

    Virtual kb during anything, email, corp email, sms, txt message, they all get ok changed to ol automatically.
  13. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    quickest fix would be to use the physical keyboard but i went into the phone dictionary and added all the words i use regularly, makes life way easier, you can do that by hitting settings>language and keyboard settings>user dictionary then you just press the menu button and hit add
  14. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    probably cause you hit the "L" instead of "K"????
  15. kenjunior
    Offline

    kenjunior New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    crspang, nope, the first option on screen was 'ok' as in what I typed, if I hit the L key the first box was 'ol'.

    Newton- that did it, I added ok, you know that crazy rarely used word in the english language. Now when I type ok and hit the space I actually have the word "ok" show up. :icon_ banana:
  16. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    yeah that was the first thing i added to mine, its because the actual word is "okay" not "ok" but i mean come on google, i feel like thats one that should prolly make the final cut

    also, the short way to do that if you are just doing it for one word is to type it on the virtual keyboard and the hold your finger down on it on the screen and it should say added to dictionary or something like that, but for multiple words its easier to just do it in settings
  17. kenjunior
    Offline

    kenjunior New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    agreed....... WTH, the "word" 'ol' made the final dictionary cut but OK didn't. Makes you wonder sometimes.
  18. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    yeah well at least they were smart enough to let you add your own words, my dictionary is basically all slang and curse words
  19. TaubBaer
    Offline

    TaubBaer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way for it change from u to you, same for r for are. Something like that. I sure miss this feature on my old Blackberry.
  20. rubberducky
    Offline

    rubberducky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I've been guilty of sending a message that says

    "Tiles! That sucks"

    Instead of Yikes.I think I like Tiles better anyways. Just like I refuse to call those long strips of breaded chicken anything other than poultry phalanges or poultry appendages. Mostly to watch the person taking my order stop, think, and laugh.
Search tags for this page

autotext haha

,
bahamas auto correct
,

bahamas humor

,
can i use my droid razr in the bahamas
,
droid razr in bahamas
,
haha
,
haha autocorrect bahamas
,
how to get verizon droid razr to work in nassau bahamas
,
will droid dna work in bahamas