Had rooted 2.0.1 droid, but it upgraded...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by endurelife, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. endurelife

    endurelife New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downgraded my 2.1 motorola droid to 2.0.1 yesterday, but this morning when I woke up it had upgraded to 2.1 again. I was able to tether before the update, but not now. I still have su, but it doesn't seem to be working now.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks
    dustin
     
  2. billygalbreath

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally, I would install the SPR SBF to 2.1 via RSDLite then use SPR to push over a newer su and SuperUser.apk to /system
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  3. endurelife

    endurelife New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. Do you have a link for that? I'm pretty new to this.

    I appreciate all the help.

    Thanks
    dustin
     
  4. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    You don't push superuser with SPRecovery. You might push it with ADB or Terminal.

    Nate
     
  5. endurelife

    endurelife New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry Nate,

    I don't know what that means. Do you have any instructions?
     
  6. billygalbreath

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the OP is having issues with root on 2.1 already, then the only way to put su and SuperUser.apk back on the device is using an update.zip via SPR
     
  7. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It doesn't really matter what it all means. I was just pointing out that the advice he gave was misguided.

    Read this thread and see if it seems like somehting you can tackle http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/37696-flashing-sprecovery-sbf-stock-2-1-a.html

    Once you are rooted and have SPRecovery properly installed we can discuss the next big leap to 2.2 Froyo. But let's take some smaller steps first.

    Nate
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  8. billygalbreath

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, nateccnn. I would like you to please take a moment and read the OP again. Then I would like you to take back your comment about my advice. Thanks :)
     
  9. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    OK...I see what you're saying then...the update zip has a script that pushes the apps. I thought you meant to use SPR to manually push like you would in ADB.

    Nate
     
  10. endurelife

    endurelife New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to both of you. I will try the steps listed on that forum you sent.

    Thanks again,
    dustin
     
  11. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The comment stands. But you probably do need to unwad those panties a bit. Try talking in a language the reader will understand.

    Nate
     
  12. endurelife

    endurelife New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wanted to let you guys know I was able to root it and get tethering back up. Couldn't use wireless tether. Kept getting an error about nat rules denied or something like that. Barnacle worked perfectly though.

    Thanks again.
    dustin