Hacking/tweaking 3G settings and the radio driver

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by kptphalkon, Jun 4, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would love to try the 3g hack, but in root explorer, I can't find the local.prop file. I am having problems with my root, explained in another forum, but just because I can't get root explorer to give read-write permissions, I should still be able to find the file, eh? Thanks!

    D2G rooted.
  2. bvjens31
    Offline

    bvjens31 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Clive, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does our root explorer have to be "Root Explorer"? I am using File Expert now (free) and can see my \data directory, but when I open it, it's empty. So I'm assuming that I need to just buy Root Explorer.
  3. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using Root Explorer and mine is empty as well. Could be a root problem ....

    D2G rooted.
  4. bvjens31
    Offline

    bvjens31 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Clive, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got root, that I'm certain of. TiBa can freeze my apps and also Root Checker says I'm rooted. I'm very interested to get at least the first hack tried out. My DL speeds are terrrrrible.
    My last 4 pings: 184ms, 174ms, 377ms, 185ms
    My last 4 DL speeds: 168Kb, 40Kb, 64 Kb, 64Kb
    My last 4 UP speeds: 521Kb, 725Kb, 609Kb, 493Kb

    Pretty outstanding huh?
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  5. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
  6. 473x15
    Offline

    473x15 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's just a bug that jbird is gonna fix. I asked him about it yesterday. If you check the build prop (at the bottom), you'll see the extra lines added for the 3g hack. As long as it's there, it's enabled regardless if the box is checked or not. Hope this helps
  8. 473x15
    Offline

    473x15 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    tks i will check dax,,one more question do you know if the donation version is the fix one cause i would like to donate for this app.. yes i do have the preview version for free.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  9. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm sure it is. You can get the latest version for free too. Just check the market link. It's great to donate too of course!
  10. 473x15
    Offline

    473x15 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    tks dude i would get it rite now.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  11. froggy503
    Offline

    froggy503 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried this hack and my 3G speeds went from 350 kbps to 1400 kbps! On first try it didn't work because I didn't find the MA setting, which is under the Main tab. After I got that figured out it worked great! Thanks!
  12. 473x15
    Offline

    473x15 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    by any chance anyone of you guys know how to remove the shaking thing from the stock lock when you open your device.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  13. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    This isn't on topic, but sure. Search the settings for Haptic Feedback.
  14. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    This was the build.prop or radiocomm? On Verizon?

    I still don't see how the first hack, which is pure GSM, can impact CDMA 3G speeds, although I guess people here says it does.
  15. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Maybe he's talking about the prop modder hack?
Search tags for this page

3g tweak

,

3g tweaks

,

3g tweaks android

,

android 3g tweak

,

android 3g tweaks

,
android radio settings
,
droid 2 global radio hack
,

how to make 3g faster on android

,
make 3g faster android
,
tweak 3g android