Hacking/tweaking 3G settings and the radio driver

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by kptphalkon, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. goofycoolguy

    goofycoolguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Monroe, LA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive tried 5 times to do the second part. but every time i hook the phone in pc mode and turn on Radio Comm i never get a green light in Radio detection. Help please :'/
     
  2. Droid2GlobalNoob

    Droid2GlobalNoob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, i'm very interested in this speed hack to see if it works. I downloaded ES file explorer, and when i access the "data" file, i only have two options. One is like color note, and com.mufumbo.craigslist.notification.androidtemp. I also can't find the option to click on the "Blue SD Card". Any help would be appreciated, also I am rooted.
     
  3. kolesar007

    kolesar007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi to all. I had problem with my D2G and that is that I dont get voice when Im connected to gsm 2G network. On 3G voice works normal, data works on both with no problems. I search to maybe upgrade radio of the phone but i dont find anything like that.
    Is there anybody with souch problem?

    And another question what is default value of 01C2 location?

    BR
    Sandi
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  4. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off thanks to the op, I'm always looking for ways to speed up 3g. My problem is this.. the first hack where you put the lines of code in local prop. I copied them and placed them there with extra line as per the op. Then I rebooted and found data didn't work at all..speedtest app and fcc speedtest (which i had just used before reboot) both fc and wouldnt open. I do not know why it breaks my data completley?! Can someone please help me out here as i am in need of it to work since been getting slow speeds lately and also being throttled. As for 2nd hack, it looks kinda intimidating as your changing radio settings, and o havent tried it yet. Before i do, can anyone verify the 2nd hack actually works and notcied a change, and that nothing bad came from it(charges ect). All help is greatly appreciated.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  5. Kimo91

    Kimo91 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    My problem with the second part is I don't know what initial choice to make in the drop down box, do I just not pick anything because the option the OP said to use isn't one of the options on the box

    Sent from my Boeing approved rooted and Apex'd Gingerbread D2G
     
  6. Cris_09

    Cris_09 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you have to be rooted? (my phone says its rooted but i cannot give wifi signal to other devices (brings up verizon mobile hotspot)) my phone wont let me open Root Manager. After i allowed superuser it just force closes. :(

    Sent from "rooted" Droid 2 Global Gingerbread .607
     
  7. Cris_09

    Cris_09 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used ES file Explorer and i couldnt find local.prop under /data. only thing there were two folders: colornote and Mortplayer.
     
  8. Cris_09

    Cris_09 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i got Root Explorer to work. but this will work on mi rooted D2G Gingerbread .607? right?
     
  9. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't know if this works in gingerbread. I tried running an aggressive 3g tweak on the froyo kernel CM7 and it broke my 3g and wifi, and I had to sbf and reflash to get wifi working again (restoring original build.prop didn't help)

    Use at your own risk.
     
  10. Cris_09

    Cris_09 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried it and my 3G with 4 signal bars give me 1000kbps to 2500kbps. wen signal bars is low and i have 1X i get the usual 100 kbps :)
     
  11. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow...which one did u use to getthose results? The build prop or one where hook it up to computer and all that?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  12. Cris_09

    Cris_09 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used d build prop I guess. I js followed d instructions on dis thread :p lol used speedtest.net .. I never hooked it up to d computer.
     
  13. Blunderbuss

    Blunderbuss New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So instead of using STELM I used RDELM for all you people who were wondering what the stock value is supposed to be. The data value I got by reading the element was 01, the same as the OP was having us set it at...so I'm not convinced that this hack actually does anything (maybe if VZW throttles you it changes this value and I haven't been throttled? Or maybe another tweak I've installed has changed this element, but I don't think flashing anything through CWR can affect the radio when the bootloader is locked).
     
  14. ryancoleman

    ryancoleman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Winnsboro, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the first hack in the local.prop and noticed an instant increase in data speed. I must say I am impressed, thanks for the info. I'll try the second and see if it makes any difference.
     
  15. ryancoleman

    ryancoleman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Winnsboro, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to try the radiocomm hack, but first I would like to know if I can and how to reverse this if I am unhappy with the results. So has anybody done this and then undone it?
     
Search tags for this page

3g tweak

,

3g tweaks

,
3g tweaks android
,

android 3g tweak

,

android 3g tweaks

,
android radio settings
,
droid 2 global radio hack
,

how to make 3g faster on android

,
make 3g faster android
,
tweak 3g android