hacking new droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by JP5676, Apr 11, 2010.

1. JP5676

JP5676 New Member

hey everyone im new to hacking , and im def not a computer wiz.
    i have already downloaded the OTA update and just today learned of how i can mod my phone,
    i want to no if this is possible with the new update or not
    if so what do i need to do to hack ive looked at the videos and on the forum but am having a hard time finding a place with reliable links for me to get the necessary downloads for my pc
    please help
  2. bitter

bitter New Member

No. Rooting with stock 2.1 is not possible. You'll have to get a 2.1 ROM if you want it.
  3. JP5676

JP5676 New Member

im sorry im new to this what exactly does that mean, and what would that entail?
  4. cupfulloflol

cupfulloflol New Member

5. JP5676

JP5676 New Member

ok thank you very much, now when i do this am i going to loose contacts and pics and vids and such?
  6. ClaudioKilgannon

ClaudioKilgannon New Member

Contacts, no they are tied to your Google account, pics and vids yes if they are not saved to your SD card, so back them up first.
  7. hipkik

hipkik New Member

One tip that alot for get...Read and Reread the tutorial over, familiarize yourself with the terms used in it, and most importantly download ALL the files needed FIRST..

Happy hacking, and don't forget to use the handy yet tedious search first
  8. JP5676

JP5676 New Member

when it talks about nandroid back ups is that like a o crap i screwed up type back up?
    and what r the chances of me bricking my phone?
    and how do i get all the downloads on my pc where do i find them
  9. gavron

gavron New Member

Sir, you need to read the FAQs, the tutorials, and the links already posted. Your questions are answered there.

E
  10. Yakuzagang5

Yakuzagang5 New Member

Ok, I will answer because youre new, but TIP:: Forums = SEARCH FIRST lol