Hacking Bionic and Hijacking Google Market?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by tedankel, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. tedankel

    tedankel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what's going on, but for the 2nd day in a row I'm seeing a bright orange triangle at the top of my Bionic's display. Yesterday, when I accessed that notation I see sign-on failure and then see notation that my Google Account Password has changed...while I had not accessed anything through the phone.
    Shut phone down, rebooted and went to Google's site to make new password. Little while later received email confirming password change (or note in case I didn't do it).

    So now the same orange triangle and verbiage about sign-on failure, entering password, etc., though haven't been doing anything with Google Play. Think this is an attempt to hack Google account or anything else possible through this Droid? Or, is this a glitch in application auto-update?

    Well, whatever the cause, the symptom has vanished. All it took was a storm wiping out server access, when they came back up, everything better.
     
    #1 tedankel, Jun 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2012
  2. Zanzaras

    Zanzaras New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4
    I started seeing this on Thursday afternoon (6/28) I've ignored it so far just because it seems fishy to me (spidey-sense was tingling). It did eventually go away, but it still pops up occassionally.
     
    #2 Zanzaras, Jun 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2012
  3. Imprezive

    Imprezive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been getting this a lot lately on my Galaxy Tab 10.1
     
  4. dfcfu342

    dfcfu342 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sounds like it may be a server problem I've had the same thing. Just look out for "your password has changed" emails and don't enter it anywhere that asks and you should be fine.
     
  5. bobbyp

    bobbyp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I got the same thing and thought it was odd. When I pulled up Gmail or talk I logged right in.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  6. Zanzaras

    Zanzaras New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4
    Same thing happen to me.

    I'm not sure if this is a coincidence, but all of this started for me when i installed the "Atari's Greatest Hits" app on my phone. I didn't like it and removed it. While removing it, i saw a split second flash of a message that said something about something hadn't installed something else (it went by so fast i couldn't see very much of it) and ever since i've been getting the Google account messages. I believe it may have been OpenFeint (i think that's right) that was installed with the app, but to play it safe i did a factory reset on my phone and wiped the internal memory too. So far, i haven't seen any more messages. Like i said it may be a coincidence, so take it with a grain of salt.
     
  7. nobreak1970

    nobreak1970 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install Lookout security to see if that Atari app is indeed not malware.
     
  8. bufordtpisser

    bufordtpisser Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There seems to be an issue in the way the credentials are being sent. It has happened to me at random times on random apps that need passwords. I usually just close and then reopen the app and it works upon reopening. I should probably capture the traffic going into the wifi router to make sure that it is not nefarious.
     
  9. KL1

    KL1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been getting the same thing since Wednesday and Thursdays google app updates.

    No new apps installed. Just simply update the google ones.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2