1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Hack Nexus 5 to work on the VZW network?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hrhaven, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. hrhaven
    Offline

    hrhaven New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a galaxy nexus user currently and unfortunately with Verizon. I'd love to switch carriers but I left ATT years ago because the only two places in the state I don't get good coverage is my home and place of work. I'd love to get the N5 but it looks like Verizon won't carry it. Any techies out there know if it will be possible to root the phone to allow it to work on the VZW network? Any work around? Thoughts?
  2. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I think the problem might be hardware more than software - it has to support certain bands / frequencies to work on Verizon, which it currently doesn't (supposedly). Now, if it supports those bands, but the radio software simply has it disabled (which wouldn't make much sense, but who knows), then I guess it's possible, kinda like the Nexus 4 having a LTE antenna that had to be hacked to get working. But I wouldn't hold my breath - which you probably already aren't! :)
    1 person likes this.
  3. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    And then there's the problem of getting it activated on the network. Verizon has the ability to block activation, if they choose.
    1 person likes this.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,622
    Likes Received:
    496
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Verizon will probably block activation even if the hardware is there and enabled somehow. Don't get your hopes up
    2 people like this.
  5. AECRADIO
    Offline

    AECRADIO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Payson, AZ.
    I wonder to what advantage VZW would have if they did this?
    We activate and reactivate older Android devices like the weather, and have yet to be prohibited, but then again, we are comparing apples to crab cakes here.
    With VZW being CDMA and if I remember correctly, an 850/1900 band plan, a quad band phone that is already on an active CDMA system should be allowed to port over.
    I mean, I ported over Straight Talk handsets to VZW, and this is no different.
    One could check the baseband version, then check out the test mode to see the actual HDR channel is, the UATI color code is and active 1st and 2nd channel A/B numbers are active, such as 283/384, 691/777 and the reverse channels of these.
    This is a shot of an active CDMA channel (2270).
    DSCF0936.JPG
  6. madspeed
    Offline

    madspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    since the Nexus 5 is available for Sprint users, which is also a cdma network, I would assume the hack to use on Verizon will eventually be figured out. There's a huge native android following with many xda programmers and hackers damn good at this stuff by now!

    Im rooting for them!!
  7. voodoodaddy
    Offline

    voodoodaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    I was really hoping the Nexus 5 would be available for VZW, although everyone said it wouldnt be, and as it turned out they were right. The reason everyone says it wouldnt be on VZW is VZW wont allow it without adding their apps. My question is, WHO ARE THESE PPL THAT ARE USING THE VZW APPS?? I cant recall ever using a VZW app that was preloaded on any phone Ive had.

    Also, the price of the Nexus 5 proves the point Ive been saying forever. Why are unsubsided phones $600-700??? There is no reason a cell phone should cost that much. I realize there is r&d cost and so forth, but build cost typically is around $200.
  8. McMalakai
    Offline

    McMalakai New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think our best hope is with FCC complaints like this: Verizon Answering to FCC Over Nexus 7 "Block"

    Lucky for us, VZW uses part of the 700MHz band, that the FCC auctioned off in 2008, with this stipulation:
    Owners of this slice "shall not deny, limit, or restrict the ability of their customers to use the devices and applications of their choice." Verizon is clearly violating FCC regulations – regulations that even Verizon VP Jim Gerace had to acknowledge in a public policy blog during the spectrum acquisition.​



    Basically, the phone can run on the VZW network, and possibly swapping SIM cards you can trick it into working ( that article is about the 7 tablet, not the new 5 phone).

    I wonder if you could take the SIM card out of the Nexus 5, move it into an older phone, activate it, then move it back into the new Nexus 5.

    Edit:
    I just reread the spec, apparently the Nexus 5 doesn't list LTE band 13 as supported. This is the 700mhz block C band that VZW has 100% coverage with. It's odd that the chips support every other band in the world except this one. My guess is it's supported but disabled. If it's disabled in the radio firmware that could take awhile for someone with the requisite skills to unblock.
    Also, it supports band 4 ( 1700/2100 AWS) which is the new VZW LTE 'boosted' coverage. The one that can do 80Mbs.
  9. AECRADIO
    Offline

    AECRADIO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Payson, AZ.
    This is my system information for VZW networks in my area, and due to reuse, these are probably identical across the nation, altering the SID/NID according to service area/licensing requirements.
    DSCF0938.JPG
    DSCF0939.JPG
    DSCF0940.JPG
    DSCF0941.JPG
    DSCF0942.JPG
  10. AECRADIO
    Offline

    AECRADIO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Payson, AZ.
    DSCF0943.JPG
  11. AECRADIO
    Offline

    AECRADIO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Payson, AZ.
    DSCF0947.JPG
    Home system.
  12. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Dang it!! I was all ready to go order a 5 but figured I'd better check to see if it would work with vzw. :(
  13. McMalakai
    Offline

    McMalakai New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. jamjr74
    Offline

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    I'm gonna try. Ordered a 32gb and I'm on Verizon. Doubt it will work so I'll have to join tmobile. Let ya know.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
  15. UltraDroid
    Offline

    UltraDroid Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    The reason the Nexus 5 isn't available on Verizon is because Google declined to offer it to Verizon, just like the Nexus 4. The reason Is historical, refer to the launch of the CDMA Galaxy Nexus.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
    2 people like this.
  16. Al Neri
    Offline

    Al Neri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tumwater WA
    I am no longer willing to put up with Verizon. I am switching to T-Mobile. In my area coverage is not an issue. I have unlimited with Verizon but I will save a decent amount of money and be able to use the Nexus 5.
  17. jamjr74
    Offline

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Yeah unfortunately t-mobile was horrible in my area so I'm back with Verizon. Verizon's coverage is unbeatable where I live so back on my s4.

    Galaxy S4!!!
  18. tgyberg
    Online

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,777
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Sell that unlimited account! Dont let verizon off the hook!!
  19. Al Neri
    Offline

    Al Neri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tumwater WA
    How can I sell it? I am definitely down to stick it to big red.
  20. tgyberg
    Online

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,777
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
Search tags for this page
does nexus 5 work on verizon
,
hack make nexus 5 work for verizon plan
,
hack nexus 5 for verizon
,
hack nexus 5 verizon
,
how to hack nexus 5 for verizon
,
how to make nexus 5 work on verizon
,
nexus 5 hack verizon
,
nexus 5 hacks
,
nexus 5 on verizon
,
nexus 5 on verizon hack
,

nexus 5 verizon

,

nexus 5 verizon hack

,
nexus 5 verizon workaround
,
verizon nexus 5 hack
,
will the nexus 5 work on verizon