[Guide] Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by MrSmith317, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    View attachment 50607




    Thanks so much!!


    Everything went very smoothly thanks to your guide, and for all the help with my questions! I learned a lot about my phone now so I'm a lot more comfortable testing things out. I still don't understand why I couldn't root before I installed the ROM though.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  2. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Congrats. On this problem it could be that you didn't do the second half of installing superuser from the market..??
     
  3. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did install superSU as you said get that for the rezound, but was I supposed to get superuser also?

    The binary update thing failed on superSU
     
  4. droidgurl1

    droidgurl1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. Thank you SO much!!!! :)
     
  5. trizzypballr

    trizzypballr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read your rom install guide, but what will installing a rom actually do for me? Im sorry this is a total n00b question. Ive already unlocked and rooted and installed the super user app. Is romming something I should be doing? If I decide to rom will I loose all of my apps and be back to stock again, or will I not loose anything?
     
  6. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    A ROM is simply custom system software. Some have features that others and/or stock doesn't. Some are simply rooted versions of the stock ROM. If you're interested take a look at the ROMs we have in the dev section. See if any strike your fancy. You won't lose any apps per se, but you will need to reinstall them.
     
  7. Calbenzo

    Calbenzo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Relative Noob here, at least with Android. I used to play around with my BB, but this is the first time with an Android.

    Anyway, I have unlocked and rooted, and am trying to install Scott's CleanROM 4.5 from stock GB

    According to the instructions:

    Method 4: Installation for S-ON Devices on Gingerbread firmware Copy ROM to SD Card AND PH98IMG.zip AND GB Firmware Patch to ROOT of SD Card
    Reboot to recovery
    wipe data / Factory Reset
    Flash ROM
    Flash GB Fimrware Patch
    Use Developer Menu to reboot to bootloader and flash the boot.img file in the PH98IMG.zip
    Reboot

    So I put both the GH98IMG.zip and the Firmware patch on the SD card (the top directory which I assume is the ROOT directory.

    When I boot into HBOOT, it then automatically finds an update which requires me to install or cancel. I cannot get into Recovery without removing these two files. Anyway, I did install the update, and then reboot, but now it only shows the HTC screen for a couple seconds, goes blank for a second, shows the HTC screen for a second again, and then goes blank with no boot up. Sort of stuck here. I removed the files from the SD card from my other computer, but now it is stuck in this mode.

    Does this clean rom need kernals perhaps?

    Sorry for the noob questions. :)

    Thanks!
     
  8. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    If you're using AmonRa, try this. Move PH98IMG.zip out of the root of your SD Card. Do the steps up to installing the ROM. After you install the ROM, plug into your PC and mount USB(in AmonRa), and move the PH98IMG.zip back to the root of your SD. Reboot into the bootloader to flash it.

    OR

    Extract boot.img from PH98IMG.zip, plug into your PC and boot into HBOOT. From there flash the kernel using "fastboot flash boot boot.img" (This would be the easier option in my opinion)
     
  9. Calbenzo

    Calbenzo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. I extracted the boot.img, and put the file in the platform-tools folder of android-sdk. I removed the PH98IMG zip from the SD card (using my pc) since I cannot get into the HBOOT since the update always trys to run with this PH of Scotts CleanROM.

    I made sure HTC Sync is not running, and from the commands in platform-tools directory I entered the command "flashboot flash boot boot.img". At first I just get stuck at <waiting for device>. If I push fastboot in HBOOT, it then looks for the PH file, and then returns to the HBOOT top screen. If I put the "flashboot . . " command back in, then it says that it is sending 'boot', but then just gets stuck here as well?

    Thanks,
     
  10. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    You have to remove PH98IMG.zip from your SD, otherwise you will get stuck with that update.
     
  11. Calbenzo

    Calbenzo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I did remove the PH from the SD.

    I forgot to mention that after it gets stuck in "sending 'boot'" above, after about 5 minutes it says
    "FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))"
    I am also conversing with the moderator on Scott Roms Forum (although I have only heard from him once last night). He mentioned

    "This works if you have done it before because you have another way into recovery. Does not work on first time noob flash. It is not you. Just no way to cover all scenarios. May have Scott add this one. Your first flash do not add PH98IMG to sd card. Just Rom and Old Firmware patch. Flash rom then flash patch back to back. Now pull battery and sd card and add PH file to sd card. Replace sd card and battery and boot into hboot pressing power/volume down at same time. Ph will now do that update. Accept and reboot. Should now boot into rom. Once you have a rom installed you can access recovery or bootloader independently and then can load all files on sd at the same time."

    This is a little confusing in that is there two firmware patches? The current one listed on his site for ICS and an "Old Firmware patch".

    Perhaps I should just flash one of the other ROMs first that you have listed on the first page of this guide. Sorry for the noobness! :)

    Thanks!
     
  12. jackson__hill

    jackson__hill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please help man!!!

    WHEN I ENTER THE COMMAND "Cd \AndroidSDK\platform-tools
    Fastboot flash recovery ..\recovery-ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.img
    Fastboot reboot-bootloader"

    IT SAYS "Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\pass_fir5t>Cd \AndroidSDK\platform-tools

    C:\AndroidSDK\platform-tools> Fastboot flash recovery ..\recovery
    -ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.img
    'Fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\AndroidSDK\platform-tools> Fastboot reboot-bootloader"

    PLEASE HELP ME MAN
     
  13. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    That just means you're not in the right directory / Windows(DOS) isn't seeing the file fastboot.exe. If you have the AndroidSDK installed it may be in a different directory. If you don't have it installed, grab my "mini-sdk" here: http://mypcdominion.com/Files/android/ROM_Tools/android-minisdk.zip and unzip it into that directory.
     
  14. sstreet3

    sstreet3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question. First off I'm running a leaked version of ICS for the Rezound. Can this be unlocked using the method above? If not, does anyone have any instructions? I get as far as it sending the unlock code but it keeps saying 'sending unlock token (0 kb) and it never finishes. Please assist.
     
  15. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    The unlock procedure is still the same. If you're getting the "sending token" and nothing happens, make sure that HTC sync isn't running on your computer, try rebooting the phone/computer or simply unplug the USB. It's usually one of the aforementioned issues.
     
Search tags for this page
adr6425lvw root
,
how to root htc rezound
,
how to root htc rezound without computer
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
htc rezound root without computer
,
root adr6425lvw
,
root htc adr6425lvw
,

root htc rezound without computer

,

root rezound without computer

,
sending unlocktoken 0 kb