[Guide] Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by MrSmith317, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    It can be if you're S-Off. The problem is that the firmware changes from GB to ICS. While you're unlocked and S-On you can only write the firmware via an HTC signed update file which only allows you to go forward, not backward.
  2. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    With S-Off can't you install GB over ICS even without nandroid?

    And this guide still works for me on the ICS leaked OTA right?

    On top of that, I have some other questions. Does AmonRa do the same thing as nandroid? It is a recovery right? Do I need to root to install AmonRa? Or is it not something I really install, from your guide it looks like something I only run from my computer while the phone is connected.
  3. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yes and yes and yes some more. lol

    Yes with S-Off you can overwrite ICS with GB. Yes the guide will work with leaked ICS. Yes, AmonRa writes nandroid backups. Yes AmonRa is a custom recovery. No you don't need to be rooted, just unlocked to write AmonRa. You can flash AmonRa with a PH98IMG.zip file but it's easier and more stable to flash it manually from a computer with fastboot.
  4. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Sorry I think I typed that first question wrong. What I meant was, With S-Off you don't nandroid to flash anything, right? So I could installed GB over ICS through some other method, right?

    Also thank you so much for answering these questions. I'm almost ready to install Newt's rom, but I have some questions about it too.
    [Rom] Newts OnE XxX RLS 1 (Sense 4 ICS 4.0.3) 5/31/2012

    If you look at that thread, at the bottom with the downloads, there are two things that confused me:

    1. he says this
    "Installation instructions for rom
    -download rom
    -copy to sd
    -reboot to recovery
    -wipe data, system, and dalvik
    -Flash rom"

    What is that line about wipe data, system, and dalvik? Especially dalvik.


    and

    2. In the download links he has a patch. Do you know how I would install that patch? If this is something that requires research into the specific rom, then don't worry about doing that for me, I'll ask people that already use the rom on mik forums for that part, if that's the case.

    Thanks again.
  5. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    With S-OFF, when you restore a nandroid, as long as you selected "everything" when backing up you should be able to do it without any additional steps.

    The line about wiping is to basically factory reset your phone before installing the new ROM. The Dalvik cache is the java virtual machine's cache on the phone that will remain persistent until wiped. It usually stores information from the applications installed on your phone and the OS.

    The patch that he refers to is the "old firmware" patch. That's for people that haven't updated to ICS yet. This can be flashed in recovery just like a ROM. You only need it if you're still on Gingerbread and/or haven't upgraded to ICS firmware yet. Just so you're aware, ICS firmware changes the mount point of the SD card, so without the patch Gingerbread firmware wouldn't be able to read the SD card while in Android.
  6. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Silly question Mr Smith, I've gotten brave and finally ready to flash rezrom. It has a patch file as well as the ruu update for gb to ics? I know I asked about install order before but at what point do you install the patch? I know you said relock the phone, update the ruu twice, then install the Rom.
  7. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    You only need the patch if you're not going to RUU. The patch is the "old firmware" patch which allows someone with GB firmware to run an ICS(new firmware) ROM.
  8. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Is it more preferred to do the ruu or just run the patch?
  9. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Depends....if you want the OTA, use the patch. If you don't care about getting the OTA(because there's a strong chance you won't get it), flash the RUU.
  10. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    So the wipe data/system/dalvik is all something I do from the phone's recovery menu?

    And if I install the ROM, and Newt has a new update I just install the update as if it was another rom? Minus the wiping all data?
  11. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yes, wiping is best done in the bathroom and from the recovery menu.

    The only caveat to your assumption is if Newt says otherwise. Always listen to your Dev..unless he/she tells you to say yes to drugs and alcohol or wants to touch your no-no parts.
  12. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Thank you Mr Smith I think ruu is the way to go
  13. droidgurl1
    Offline

    droidgurl1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    S-off question

    Ok. I'm unlocked, rooted and got a recovery installed. Now... in order to flash a custom ROM, I need to determine if I have "s-off" or "s-on". How do I make that determination? I still have stock GB atm. <----- Not sure if I should post this question again. But... just hoping someone might see it and respond this time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  14. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    That's easy. If you didn't use a wire to short your phone into service mode and the other junkage necessary to do S-Off, then you're still S-On. Easy enough? ;-)
  15. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    For some reason I couldn't root the phone with Amon Ra. When I booted into it and did the install su and superuser, it said it successfully finished. After the reboot when I installed SuperSU it kept failing some update. So I installed root checker and says my device isn't properly rooted.

    Oh well, I'm just moving on to installing Newt's One XxX.
Search tags for this page
adr6425lvw root
,
how to root htc rezound
,
how to root htc rezound without computer
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
htc rezound root without computer
,
htc.com/us/support/content.aspx?id-6196
,

root htc adr6425lvw

,

root htc rezound without computer

,

root rezound without computer

,
sending unlocktoken 0 kb