[Guide] Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by MrSmith317, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. torch327
    Offline

    torch327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a pc and from what I have found so far I am by able to do anything other than install the leak.is this correct?

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  2. torch327
    Offline

    torch327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Was supposed to be I am not ableto

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  3. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    If you don't have a PC(that means Windows/Linux/Mac computer) then yes, the only thing you can do is install the leak. Download it from any number of sources, change the filename to PH98IMG.zip and put it on your removable(external) SD card, power off, power back on holding power and volume down. It will start the RUU process. You must do this twice. The first time never works and should be interrupted with a battery pull. The second time actually flashes the RUU.
  4. torch327
    Offline

    torch327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn I didn't know about the battery pull.could explain some ofy issues.it reboots on its own sometimes and some app optimization every other time.since I already flashed twice am I able to restart process or am I stuck until I get a pc?

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  5. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    If you flashed twice and you can boot you're done. Some people claim there's a random reboot issue, others have had none. So I can't say. I'm not on the leak, I'm on CleanROM which is based on the leak but works ..
  6. torch327
    Offline

    torch327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your help mrsmith.guess ill have to throw together a cheap pc so I can to.Ker with all this.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  7. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    well done!
  8. bobh12362
    Offline

    bobh12362 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Non-rooted flash to ICS works

    Thanks for the info. I upgraded w/o ever connecting to a pc, or even having a sim card in, while connected to wifi. Stock Rezound, post fresh factory reset.
    The links from the following page (with incomplete directions) http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/03/16/exclusive-download-android-4-0-build-3-11-605-22-for-the-htc-rezound/ wouldn't connect to working download pages, so I typed this address into Rezound browser:
    http://i.minus.com/mbfFf1ZHwR/gallery.zip

    Downloaded file, then with Astro - moved it to / of sd card2 and renamed it PH98IMG.zip, double checked md5.

    Rebooted phone with vol/dn and power, it ran once and rebooted into an apparently working phone, but phone info still showed old firmware.
    Rebooted phone with vol/dn and power again, it ran with all the checkmarks updating, then rebooted into upgraded phone.
    Somewhere I read, and it seems to work: reboot phone while plugged into wall charger, then press and hold vol and power when charge light goes out momentarily - gets into recovery w/o battery pull.

    Post upgrade, It seems like maybe the wifi isn't working on wpa2-psk security??, but it does connect to open network.

    Thanks again for the more complete instructions posted here.

    Now I think I'll jump into unlocking and nandroid, then flash cleanrom or such.

    Bob
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012
  9. scy1192
    Offline

    scy1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just reading the unlocking FAQ. It might be useful to let people know they can output the console display to a text file by putting "> file.txt" at the end.

    For example,
    echo hello this is an example of text output > example.txt

    will give you a text file named "example.txt" in your present working directory containing "hello this is an example of text output".

    This makes it easier to copy and paste.
  10. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    You can also do a " | clip" on Vista or better and the output is automatically copied to the clipboard. I like to keep things simple. And for some of the people that need these guides, getting the commands in properly is enough without adding on pipes and redirects.
  11. Dassh
    Offline

    Dassh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  12. pbickel
    Offline

    pbickel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have got to the beginning of rooting and installing Amon Ra but whenever I type the command in the command prompt just says waiting for device and absolutely nothing happens
  13. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Usually that happens when either HTC sync is running on your pc or the drivers aren't installed properly. I suggest unplugging your phone, and rebooting your pc.. That should get you going again.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
  14. pbickel
    Offline

    pbickel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Still says waiting for device whenever I type in: "Fastboot flash recovery recovery-ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.img" it replies with tthe line: "< waiting for device >" and neither my phone or command prompt so anything.
  15. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Are you in HBOOT? If not reboot into HBOOT(power down, then power on holding power + volume down) then do your fastboot command.
  16. SuperDink
    Offline

    SuperDink New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mr Smith,

    Great guide! I just got my Rezound yesterday to replace a broken Thunderbolt. I want to root the phone but I am hesitant because of the unlock proceedure through the HTC dev site. Once registered with them you need to get the identifying token from the phone and give that to them. Does this mean that the phone is now labelled as unlocked, rooted, voided, ect? I think the answer is yes, but just want to verify. I may need to wait for a while to root just to make sure that there are no problems with the phone that may need a warranty. Or can I root and if there is any problem, put it back to stock later? THanks in advance!
  17. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Actually no. Unlocking with HTCDev.com isn't truly unlocking. All they do is supply the unlock key. Also unlocking doesn't void the warranty unless the defect was a direct effect of unlocking. You can root and then come back to stock by using an RUU(Rom Update Utility). These are the only way we have to update firmware without going full S-Off.
  18. mattmns
    Offline

    mattmns New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you much for this detailed explanation, exactly what I was looking for! Super easy to read and follow :hail:
  19. droidgurl1
    Offline

    droidgurl1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I have unlcoked my Rezound without any problems but for the life of me, I can't root it!! When I type the commands I get "error: cannot load". The guide is very straightforward so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions?
  20. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Are you still on Gingerbread or are you on an ICS leak?
Search tags for this page
adr6425lvw rom
,
adr6425lvw root
,
how to root htc rezound
,
how to root htc rezound without a computer
,
how to root htc rezound without computer
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
htc rezound root without computer
,

root htc adr6425lvw

,
root htc rezound no computer
,

root htc rezound without computer

,

root rezound without computer

,
sending unlocktoken 0 kb