[GUIDE]TBH inspired Free wireless tethering hack instructions for Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by localmuaythai, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. artic_acid

    artic_acid New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Id rule out that its heat or that its the app itself. Those dont add up here. Im sure motorola takes heat into account when building the phone, esp when this is an intended use.

    I mean you pull off a mod and it breaks it, seems pretty clean cut that it was the mod.

    I didnt say networking was the issue, more the network configuration. As in how they are set up to handle authentication. Alot of times when companies aquire other companies and their equipment they cant always have a "Standardized" setup, due to different hardware and software in use. Im thinking thats why were seeing the variations in how quickly the 3g drops. Im also thinking maybe the hot spot app has some other means of authentication or something to trip a red flag when you pull this lil reach around trick.
     
  2. bonesjones

    bonesjones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its just odd, I'm in alabama, if verizon knows how to block it, it seems odd they'd do it in bama, and not in bigger states, cause well you know bama ain't exactly known for its hackers :)
     
  3. keyofterror

    keyofterror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im sure that the mod itself (if done correctly) is in no way harmful to the phone. I think its more of a conflict within the phone itself. Multiple ports have the same number to direct.
    So when we're tethering I assume we are using two ports. On for data to and from phone to the tower. And one of the other ports for the 'other' device. If both are using the same auth code. Then eventually everything gets backed up eventually and it just cuts off.
    Though I am going to just put everything back to normal. Im not using it anyway.
    Besides. This ones getting sent back. Sometimes when I type a key will seem stuck and just jjjjjjjjjjj < do something like that) as well as act strange when I have it plugged into the charger. Green blocky screens n stuff like that.
    My wifes phone does the green screen alot too. And I only used the mod on mine.
     
  4. bonesjones

    bonesjones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so, i changed my numbers back to default and it still does the same thing,

    when a device is connected, the 3g goes off/on then off/on every few seconds.

    So i think i may have a defective chip or something, i'm gonna backup wipe and try again.
     
  5. bonesjones

    bonesjones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Allright! wiped my phone and it worked, something i must have had installed was screwing with it, can't imagine what it was but it's working now, WAAHOOO!!!
     
  6. artic_acid

    artic_acid New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I had some time to play with it again tonight. Seems if i turn the Wifi ON before i start up the Mobile Hotspot, it behaves differently.

    I have had it running now for almost an hour streaming a video from a webserver of mine with no drop.

    Normally my wifi is always off, and last time i just fired up the hot spot. How about you guys?
     
  7. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tried what you mentioned a little while ago. And for whatever reason it seems to work. At one point the blue icon went off (well actually its still off) and the green icon is still there. Even w/o the blue icon in the notification bar I still haven't experience a drop. Watching hulu on the laptop for the past 45 minutes.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. Sparkimus

    Sparkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    So is this hack still working alright for everyone? I'm thinking about doing it to my D3 but want to make sure it's still worth it.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. greenstuffs

    greenstuffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah it works confirmed i've been tethering and no surprises.
     
  10. artic_acid

    artic_acid New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still all good here, moved 40 Mb over it tonight, no issues. Actually enjoying it a bit more than barnacle on my project elite d1. Seems just as fast, but a little more stable.
     
  11. Sparkimus

    Sparkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks guys. I might try this later tonight if I get a chance.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. Sparkimus

    Sparkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I did it. It was pretty painless other than me trying to figure out PC mode. I had it in bootloader mode and couldn't figure out how to get my PC to find it lol. I guess I'm used to flashing the old D1 with RSD. After that all went well with no errors at all. I don't have 3G coverage at my house, so I'll test it out next time I'm out.

    Thanks to everyone who has contributed.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  13. Sparkimus

    Sparkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Finally got a chance to try it out, and it seems to be working perfectly. My buddy tethered his Macbook pro for about an hour on the way to our show tonight and it worked pretty well the whole time.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  14. CLShade

    CLShade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget to watch your data usage, folks. Unless your timing was perfect the D3 upgrade probably included a data plan downgrade from unlimited to 2GB/month. VZW killed their unlimited data plan on July 7th.

    (And I must say after "enjoying" the clogged connection on the mainland last month I can't say I blame them. Hawaii is FAST because there are no people here - it is a very noticeable difference.)

    If you haven't upgraded your phone or your plan since that happened then you're unlimited plan is grandfathered in. But make ANY change to your service and it will (poof!) evaporate.
     
  15. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not true. If an individual was/is upgrading from another smartphone with an unlimited plan, say something like an original droid or droid2, they still are grandfathered into the unlimited data plan.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 free tethering
,

droid 3 tether hack

,
droid 3 tethering hack
,

droid 3 wireless tether

,
droid 3 wireless tether hack
,
free wifi hotspot htc inspire
,

htc inspire hotspot hack

,
htc inspire mobile hotspot hack
,

htc inspire tethering hack

,
htc inspire wifi hotspot hack