[GUIDE]TBH inspired Free wireless tethering hack instructions for Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by localmuaythai, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. localmuaythai

    localmuaythai New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    At first i wasn't going to share... but then I realized secrets like these weren't mine to keep and they belonged to the community... so

    [GUIDE]TBH inspired Free wireless tethering hack instructions for Droid 3 - xda-developers

    dancedroid

    To all who use my write up... You better be ready to donate to whatever dev finally roots this beast. Thats all I ask.

    - faylix / local
     
  2. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I briefly skimmed it, looks pretty complicated, and VERY easy to destroy your phone with.
    So, it's been said before, but I'll say it as well.
    EVERYONE BE CAREFUL WITH THAT PROGRAM AND DON'T MUCK ABOUT IN THE OTHER SETTINGS.

    I'll try this some other time when I'm not half a asleep.
     
  3. localmuaythai

    localmuaythai New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Truth.

    Initially i wasnt going to release it but then i thought that wouldnt be fair.

    I promise if u follow my instructions u will be surprised at how easy it is.

    But just like everyone used to brick updating the radio back in the g1 daya the potential to hurt ypurself is there.

    Let me know how it goes, pm me if u hit a snag
     
  4. neilrl79

    neilrl79 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Great write up! I will be trying this out when i get a some quiet time.
     
  5. edaw104

    edaw104 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I tried, but no luck! Can't get RC to find the phone. Followed the instructions, but i'm running 32 bit windows so a little less errors. I even tried to put it in developer mode after it didn't work and still no luck ;-(
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
  6. edaw104

    edaw104 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It Works thank you. RC usb setting was wrong when i installed just put it in pst usb mode and presto-blamo it works thanks again:icon_ banana:
     
  7. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanx for this man. If the instructions are followed to the letter its a very easy hack to do. Working perfectly on my phone as I write this. Once again thanx!!!!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. localmuaythai

    localmuaythai New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really this is all from Team Black Hat... their awesome work.

    But I am very happy to be able to translate their hard work to our Droid 3. :motdroidhoriz:

    Again all I ask is that when some dev finally cracks this beast wide open for all of us you guys open your wallets and send SOMETHING.

    - faylix / local

    PS: I'm not entirely religious but I'm taking the bar exam on wed and Thursday and if you guys wanted to pray for me... :heart:
     
  9. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This worked. Thanks for posting the link...

    TBH and faylix...you are awsome
     
  10. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was just wondering if following these same steps would work on the droid 2

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  11. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you read the origional TBH post it looks like it does
    http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/android-hacks/5156-tbh-droid-3g-hotspot-nvram-hack.html

    3rd post in they used to have a patch for the droid 2 (not global)...later on they show the manual method and it seems to be the same.

    EDIT: Later on they say it should work on any droid
    http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/...-droid-3g-hotspot-nvram-hack-5.html#post41447
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  12. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Actually I read the whole post. Dont't know how I missed that part of it. But by reading tbh post and seeing how simple it was to hack my d3 all I was thinking is that this is so simple that I can't see why it wouldn't work on my droid 2. I have everything all set up bcuz I did the hack for my d3. So doing it for the d2 should be really quick. Thanx for the links tho. I feel a lot more confident in giving it a try. Appreciate it!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  13. kafercup

    kafercup New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works like a charm!!!
     
  14. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get a pink dot when connected to RC.

    This seems like a pretty complicated procedure for the average shmuck.

    I'm out, I think.
     
  15. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Lol. Its not that complicated. A little intimidating? Maybe. But not difficult at all. I think the hardest work involves getting everything you need set up correctly- ex. correct versions of radiocom, moto drivers etc. Once everything is set up its a piece of cake. After I did the hack on my D3 I did it on my D2 the next day. Wouldn't you know it, once I plugged my D2 into my computer the correct setup was still the same. So all I really had to do was change the numerical values (delete,copy, and paste). Literally took less than 5 minutes. And this is coming from a BELOW average shmuck.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 free tethering
,

droid 3 tether hack

,
droid 3 tethering hack
,

droid 3 wireless tether

,
droid 3 wireless tether hack
,
free wifi hotspot htc inspire
,

htc inspire hotspot hack

,
htc inspire mobile hotspot hack
,

htc inspire tethering hack

,
htc inspire wifi hotspot hack