GSM options on VZW LTE/CDMA GNex?

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by ænyoc, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. ænyoc
    Offline

    ænyoc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Playing around and found this:

    View attachment 44908
    View attachment 44909

    Do we have GSM/world phone capability in the vzw gnex? I doubt it, but then why have these options?

    Survivor of the Great 2011 Verizon Google Samsung Galaxy Nexus Prime Debacle and proud owner of a Galaxy Nexus and Original Droid 1/Milestone. Sent from my Sexy Lexus Galaxy Nexus.
     
  2. Kurupt
    Offline

    Kurupt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    i wish
     
  3. kefler
    Offline

    kefler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So over in this thread: [Q] Global Phone? - Page 6 - xda-developers

    They found similar menus on the Rezound, and found if they go and switch off LTE and put in an AT&T SIM, it works. I really wonder if the same thing would work on the Verzion galaxy nexus?

    At this point I am down to rezound vs galaxy nexus and I think I might go nexus if it also had this capability.

    Edit: I also wanted to mention that All specs/info from verizon said the rezound did NOT have GSM capability either.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  4. creaky
    Offline

    creaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    That would be really, really cool!
     
  5. ænyoc
    Offline

    ænyoc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol, general consensus was an overwhelming no it doesn't support it everywhere I looked, so I didn't pursue it... Now after that thread over on xda, I guess I'll take a look at it again :)


    I have the day off (mostly), and this has completely captured my interest. Problem is, I don't have a gsm sim card. PM me if you are in/near San Diego, have a GSM sim card and wanna see what we can get working!
     
  6. creaky
    Offline

    creaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Dammit! I'm neither close nor in possession of a GSM SIM card. Please report on your finding if you are able to hook it up!
     
  7. kmo
    Offline

    kmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sure looks promising....
     
  8. kefler
    Offline

    kefler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. creaky
    Offline

    creaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +5
  10. 6bolt2g
    Offline

    6bolt2g Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I stuck a Tmobile sim in the phone and it didn't throw up any warnings. It just has no signal. Not sure if I need to throw some switches in the phone or what. I tried that LTE toggle app that lets you in the radio selection section and chose GSM only and it didn't seem to make a difference. The signal section on that menu says -120 and nothing shows up on the meter on the top of the screen. Im thinking either no radio or no GSM antenna. Any one have any ideas to try?
     
  11. Snooginsguy
    Offline

    Snooginsguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    EDIT never mind, I guess I should read the whole post first... ;) Sorry.
     
Search tags for this page
convert galaxy fascinate cdma to gsm
,
enable hidden menus for verizon galaxy nexus
,

galaxy nexus *#*#4636#*#*

,
galaxy nexus hidden menu
,
galaxy nexus secrect codes verizon
,
galaxy nexus verizon hidden code
,
verizon galaxy nexus gsm radio
,
verizon galaxy nexus hidden menu
,
verizon gnex lte settings
,
verizon nexus lte service menu