group texting setup?

Reaction score
I am new to texting and wanted to know if it is possible to setup a group text on the android?
I am a coach of a soccer team and would like to send out a text message to each member of the team but only do it once rather than send each person one.
As I mentioned before I do not use texting often so I am not sure if I can do this.
Thanks,
Steven

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
Handcent allows group texting - but I think you need to first set up your group in your contacts (address book) app.

Sent from my Droid X

johnnycool001

Reaction score
+1 for Handcent, touch compose and it pulls up your contact list, each has a check box, check the ones you want the hit back, compose and send.

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
Not sure which phone you have - but I have an X and if I open my contact app, there is a bar towards the top with a green + sign...click on this and select add group and then add the contacts to the group...

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
I have the original Droid and I do not see a green +

I do not have my D1 with me...possibly press the menu key when you are in the contacts area to see if you have "add group" option...

HOGMAN

Reaction score
Not sure which phone you have - but I have an X and if I open my contact app, there is a bar towards the top with a green + sign...click on this and select add group and then add the contacts to the group...

I have the Droid X also, but when I select the green + sign it only allows me to create a new contact, not a new group... I've been looking everywhere to create new groups that also allow me to use people from my facebook and gmail accounts as well as people I in-puted that are not in either locations.

DefAntNJ

Reaction score