Greetings. Droid incoming.

BillTheCat

Reaction score
In the interest of full disclosure, I will tell you that I am a 14 year veteran of Verizon. But I work on the landline side of the business, and have no connection to the wireless business.

I currently use a Blackberry Storm 9530. Not a bad phone, but the Droid really caught my eye. I just got the Storm in May, so I was not eligible for a contract price upgrade on the Droid.

I called *611 to ask how much they would charge me to activate a Droid if I managed to get a deal on eBay, etc. To my surprise, they offered me the Droid for $199. Not even the "$299 minus a mail-in rebate" deal- just $199 straight up.

So it is due to arrive Thursday via FedEx, and I'll have to drop by the local VZW store to have my contacts transferred over. (Unless something has changed since May, VZW doesn't have an online contacts backup for Blackberry, and I don't know if the Droid has it... I'll poke around here for that info.)

So that's my story in a nutshell. I'm going to go and start perusing these forums for reviews, thoughts, issues, surprises, etc. before I start asking questions of anyone.

To whoever set up the forum- thank you! Very glad it's here.

Bill

OP
BillTheCat

BillTheCat

Reaction score
Thanks for the warm welcome, Tigger! Will you be holding onto your Storm for a while... just in case? I will. But I don't expect to ever bring it back to life. At least, not on my account. I might see if I can get $50 for it somewhere.

I work the graveyard shift, so I made my intro post from work. As I was getting ready to leave at 7 a.m., a co-worker on the day shift walked in & started waggling his Droid around just to remind me that I don't have one.

Then I told him that I am less than 48 hours from getting mine, and he mostly STFU. It's all in good fun with that guy, though, and tomorrow morning, I plan to request a Droid inspection.

heem

Reaction score