Gps

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by frank999, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. frank999

    frank999 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking for a couple of things;

    1. ANy way to make Google maps go full screen. When I have it in my car, unless i use the navigation driving directions, i can't clear the top task bar that takes up real-estate on the screen.

    2. The GPS works even without WIFI / 3G as we know. However, if I am driving whilst on a call and getting say a 1x signal, driving directions are lost. Also, have to reconnect because they are not cached. Is TomTom or Garmin or some other technology available so I can use my GPS even with no internet or wireless connection, i.e. fully offline.

    Thanks,
     
  2. elcompaLalo

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    The GPS on the D2 and DX use satellites to direct it, not cell phone service. I have used it plenty of times out in the middle of nowhere with no 0 bars, no 3G, much less WiFi.
     
  3. frank999

    frank999 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I said! I think :) What I am looking for is a map/navigation, for offline use when I only have GPS. If I have wifi, it works fine (Google maps or navigation).
     
  4. setyourgoals

    setyourgoals New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, if i'm not mistaken, google maps + navigation does require mobile internet. Well at least initial startup, because if your not able to receive mobile internet then google maps cannot pull up the data (streets, location, etc) to use with the gps.

    Correct me if I'm incorrect?
     
  5. elcompaLalo

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    In your app drawer click on the blue arrow, it is a navigation app that works directly off satellites. Able to show you your location on a map in real time, as well as route you to from destinations.
     
  6. elcompaLalo

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google Maps uses internet/cell phone service to work, because of the detail on the maps. Navigation (blue arrow) only needs satellites, it works like any TomTom, Magellan, etc........ Only showing you limited info but can still get you where you need to get.
     
  7. setyourgoals

    setyourgoals New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, I was actually curious and tried this myself. I turned OFF my data connection (Settings>Data Manager>Data Delivery>Unchecked "Data enabled" and "Background data", and enabled my gps and then opened up Navigation. I actually already had a recently saved place (restaurant less than 5 miles from me) so i did not even have to search for a destination. As I clicked the address it seemed like it began to start-up fine, but then preceded to hang at the loading of "Getting driving directions". I let it sit for about 10 minutes before it finally announced that "Data Connection was lost".

    Seems as if mobile internet(3g,wifi) is required for navigation.

    To answer the OP's question, you can find apps in the marketplace that allow you to preload maps onto your sd card so mobile connection is not required.
     
  8. frank999

    frank999 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using Maverick for offloading map data to use when I only have GPS and no wifi/3G. I am finding doc out there on how to load maps on the SD drive for offline working but it's not easy and I couldn't find any TOMTOM or Gamrin apps which is really what I want. i can use my Garmin Nuvi but I wanted to use the Droid X.. I will keep looking.
     
  9. frank999

    frank999 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. elcompaLalo

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you are correct. Forgive me if my information was misleading.

    It may only be needed initially to send the phone route info, from there the GPS satellites merely interpret the info and direct you (regardless if there is a signal or not, I have used nav in the middle of nowhere a few times now).
     
  11. setyourgoals

    setyourgoals New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it's the notification bar your talking about, the only thing I could suggest to you is using a different home launcher, such as ADW or Launcher Pro. Both have settings in which you can enable that hides the notification bar.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  12. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Co-Pilot (already mentioned in the thread) and N-Drive use downloaded maps and so don't need a cell signal. Google will cache maps around your route for some distance and continue routing when on a short call, but not for very far.

    There was an announcement a few days ago about a new HTC phone coming out with Tomtom maps built in. (see http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-news/90491-htc-going-kill-free-turn-turn-directions.html) I Would like to see it available for all Android. And now that the Garmin/ASUS partnership looks like it blew up, I would like to see Garmin bring their NuviPhone software to the market instead of tying it to one phone on T-Mobile.

    Alan
     
Search tags for this page

does gps count as data usage

,

verizon wireless phone gps cout as data usage