GPS Won't Lock

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by wilydodger, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GPS Won't Lock (Updated)

    Man I need some help. My GPS won't lock in. I ran GPS Test and it only shows one satellite in the sky instead of 7 or 8.

    I have done everything. Reinstalled Liberty. Wiped. Uninstalled all my apps so google won't reinstall them. I even sbfed back to stock with the VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01 file.

    I got verizon to send me a new phone by calling them. I got irritated and just restored back to my liberty without making a new backup. Now the GPS doesn't work again. I forgot to test it on the new phone before I restored (dumb move).

    Anyone else have this problem? What are the odds that both phones have mucked up GPS chips?

    Just SBFed the new phone and still no luck...

    PLEASE help!
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  2. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update

    Update: It seems like this is an outage specific to Android phones in the East Texas area. Apparently it's been affecting all android phones in East Texas for about a week. Anyone know what the frack is up with that?
  3. yoyoche
    Offline

    yoyoche New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    n.w. indiana
    Which program

    Which GPS Test program do you use? There are two in the market. one by chartcross and one by Mike Lockwood.


  4. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I used both of those and GPS Status by EclipSim. I talked to the other Verizon store in my town and apparently the outage is a real thing. I'm just not sure how that's possible. It's only for the East Texas area though and nowhere else. Also, it's weird that I got clipped with the outage while I was on Liberty 2.01. I couldn't have gotten an update from verizon.

    The official line from the Verizon store was that both google and verizon were trying to do an "update" at the same time and it ended up knocking out everyone's GPS, but only in this area. Apparently it works if you take your phone out of state. They also said it would be fixed wednesday of next week. I'm still stumped at what could possibly have fracked up standalone GPS applications as well as the google ones...
  5. yoyoche
    Offline

    yoyoche New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    n.w. indiana
    I am in Indiana and my GPS is working fine. I have a Droid X running Liberty Gingy 0.1 Rom. Tried both GPS Status by EclipSim and GPS Test by chartcross.


    I used both of those and GPS Status by EclipSim. I talked to the other Verizon store in my town and apparently the outage is a real thing. I'm just not sure how that's possible. It's only for the East Texas area though and nowhere else. Also, it's weird that I got clipped with the outage while I was on Liberty 2.01. I couldn't have gotten an update from verizon.

    The official line from the Verizon store was that both google and verizon were trying to do an "update" at the same time and it ended up knocking out everyone's GPS, but only in this area. Apparently it works if you take your phone out of state. They also said it would be fixed wednesday of next week. I'm still stumped at what could possibly have fracked up standalone GPS applications as well as the google ones...[/QUOTE]
  6. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apparently this is only in the East Texas area. They said my GPS would work if I went a hundred miles in any direction without any updates. Maybe it's a funky aGPS triangulation error from the towers or something? Although it still happens even if I turn aGPS and wireless network assist off...

    I really don't know how you can have a localized GPS outage that isn't caused by the satellites themselves...

    Thanks for checking though ;)
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  7. ldjd79
    Offline

    ldjd79 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man I wish I wouldve found this thread before the 5 sbf's. I have a new phone coming from vz tomorrow. I will test it as soon as it boots up. I live around Canton, TX and noticed it Sat. afternoon and have been chasing my tail ever since. Nothing fixes it on my end.
  8. ldjd79
    Offline

    ldjd79 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only way I can get a fix is if i am connected to a wifi connection. Did they say if it is device specific or effecting all phones?
  9. wilydodger
    Offline

    wilydodger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All android phones. I have a droid x, and I saw it affect two thunderbolts and a droid 2 global at the verizon store. I wish I had found all this out before I sbfed a ton of times and changed my phone out as well.

    Here's a tread that is more informative if you would like to go take a look:
    [Q] Thunderbolt GPS - xda-developers

    I've been trying to connect the dots on this for half a week, and that is the best thread I have found so far about it. The whole damn situation is just freaking weird.

    Edit: Looks like you found that thread already ldj. I hadn't been back to check since you posted there ;)

    Oh yeah, Canton would be right at he heart of this problem. I'm in Tyler here....
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011
Search tags for this page
480 intellimap gps won;t pickup satellite
,
android gps doesn't lock
,
android gps won't connect to satellites
,
android wont connect to gps in afternoons
,
droid razr gps location wont lock
,

droid x gps wont lock

,
droid x won't connect to gps
,
galaxy s3 gps won't lock
,
galaxy s3 gps wont lock
,
galaxy s3 won't get gps lock
,
galazxy s3 gps wont lock
,
gps wont boot to gps
,
moto droid gps problems mike lockwood
,
phone cant connect to gps
,
why doesn't my hudl lock onto the gps?