GPS, What am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dkfloyd, May 20, 2010.

  1. dkfloyd

    dkfloyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Driving and need to find "Fox Rental Car". I cant type in the address and such while driving, so my friend does. When it comes up, it shows the map with directions but no voice navigation??. What is the fastest and easiest way as I am driving to have gps/navigation get me to the location I need to get to?

    Second, lets say we leave rental car location and want to stop at a Starbucks. What is the easiest and fastest way for my droid to tell me?
     
  2. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,424
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Get the Navigation widget in market if you dont have one but you should, I think, have gotten one included with the 2.1 update.
     
  3. dkfloyd

    dkfloyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have Google Maps...
     
  4. rkeller62

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run the car home application and press the big Navigate button, then say 'navigate to fox car rental.'
     
  5. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,424
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    The navigator launcher takes you right to the navigator. Now when you do a voice search, its going to go to the web and pull a map with usually the closest one first. Then you need to click the 'local' link on the map, then you wil get a directions option. This is the fastest way I know, maybe someone else knows a better way..
     
  6. rkeller62

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, you are right, you want to launch voice search, but if you start your search with 'navigate to' it should open in nav mode and not maps or web search mode.
     
  7. dkfloyd

    dkfloyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I go to the navigate, it gives me my starting point and to enter an ending point but no voice search unless I select voice search.
    Should I be able to do a voice search in the navigate?
     
  8. ShowTime

    ShowTime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just open maps. Press and hold the magnifying glass button at the bottom (one of the 4 soft keys) for a second until it vibrates. Then say "navigate to x" with x being the name of the place. It may give you multiple choices depending on if there are several nearby. Pick one and presto.
     
  9. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,424
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Wow cool tip!!
     
  10. dkfloyd

    dkfloyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, yes great tip. Works great that way. Thank you.
     
  11. rkeller62

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome tip. Still much to be learned about the power of Droid!
     
  12. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a couple of ways to do it. I prefer the approach that was already posted since the car home is a bit easier to use while in the car IMO.